Pebbles on Life’s Beach

I missed an opportunity today – I should have taken my kite with me … sigh!

Seaton Cliffs, Victoria Park, Arbroath

However in all other respects but one – it was a good day.  The one respect that was not good happened just as I set off – the dogs well settled in their beds.  I boarded the first bus of the day and asked for my ticket.  The driver is comparatively new and it took him twice of not being willing to look for my ticket before he asked for training – so I know that he knows how to do it.  Today I added a level of complexity because I needed a connecting service, as I did a few weeks ago when I made  a similar journey one evening.

He very briefly considered my request and said he didn’t think he could do it.  I advised he could and I had bought the same ticket within the past few weeks.  I was told to sit down to save him the bother (such charm!)  Of course once I reached Forfar and changed buses I had to buy a return ticket form there which was almost the same as the price from home but I still had a single ticket to buy to get me back from Forfar later on.  The money is an issue but more importantly I was treated as an inconvenience instead of  a customer – so I spent the second leg of my journey writing a complaint.

Having had a rant to someone about the inappropriate behaviour of that driver I settled to enjoy my visit to the seaside – mind I almost thought It was going to be a wash out because half way the heavens opened.  Arbroath managed to stay dry and even sunny.

Arbroath Harbour

Swans inspecting the fleet

MV Shearwater

MV Shearwater (Leith) – Harbour Dredger

MV Shearwater

A bonny craft in Mackay’s Boatyard

I could have stood and watched the work in the boatyard for hours – even though I was stood on a wee bridge with water underneath – I am very pleased to report that my vertigo is still in remission even after all this time of not being around harbours and water – I was really comfortable walking round the harbour with no railing and leaning over railings in other places – even climbing up to a fishing gallery on the harbour wall!

I could also bore you daft with photos of the eroded sandstone around the harbour – but I managed to contain myself and grab just the one picture today

Sandstone erosion, Mackays Boatyard

Eroded sandstone on Mackay’s Boatyard buildings

Arbroath Road Train

Arbroath’s Road Train – ready to roll!

Then I walked on the shingly beach, beach combed and … yes I got my feet wet!

And this is where the Oystercatchers should be instead of plaguing us at home with their racket

From there I started a slow meander towards my meeting but I had to stop and cuddle two chowchows on the way – just 7 months old and brothers – a pair of doggy teddy bears! I was intrigued by some other doggy activity too – a couple were cycling around the harbour area with trailers on their bikes containing a golden retriever and a cocker spaniel.  Now I have in the past considered the idea of a doggy trailer on a bike to get Dog from A to B to be able to exercise somewhere new and different.  But they weren’t getting the dogs out to exercise – just cycling round the harbour area and the goldie was stood up and to be honest looked a bit cramped.

The meeting was, like the parson’s egg, good in parts!  I made some interesting and unexpected contacts; probably inflamed another who then appeared to back down a little after a moment’s consideration and came away disappointed that the other Social Entrepreneurs there are happy for someone else to organise and run their (our) network rather than us driving the boat!  We’ll see.

So goal accomplished – seaside and a paddle … I feel refreshed and I bet I sleep tonight with all that sea air.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

