Upcycling …

So today promised to be tedious – signing on – advisor interview … rain if it was like yesterday!  So what really happened?

My appointment was 11 so I went out for the 09:46 bus which gave me time to go to the library and print off the evidence of my job searching activity.  We saw the bus go into Kirrie about 5 minutes late so when it got to 10:00 and it had not returned we started to think something had gone wrong.  We got giddy and hatched plans to hijack a spraying tractor and it’s bowser unit.  We set the world to rights – well our little corner of it at least.  We swapped details of our activities once we got to the other end of the bus journey.

A bus went into Kirrie “out of service” so we reasoned that soon we would have a bus …

The next bus went into Kirrie on time and I got a lovely cheery wave from the driver.

We waited.

Eventually at 10:52 the next bus with the cheery driver arrived … we still don’t know what happened to the replacement bus and as far as I know it might still be driving round Kirrie …

The other two ladies had concession cards so I asked them to get on first.  I asked for my Jobseeker fare and offered that I had 5 pence in change if 5p coins were in short supply.  He laughed and said no he had plenty of 5ps.  Ticketed I sat down and was immediately engaged in conversation form both sides at once – an acquaintance who I had sat next to started to talk and the bus driver filled me in on why he was having a stress filled shift … he told me that yesterday he had done a localised service (repeated circuits of one small town) on a bus that was like sitting on a Space Hopper (he will from now on be known as Space Hopper when I write about him in my blog LOL).

A little further on the bus become full so I stood up and asked a woman to take my seat.  I told her I would be fine since the driver would not throw me through the windscreen … and I could see him laughing so I added … else I will make sure he gets the Space Hopper again tomorrow.  It was  a short but fun journey.  He apologised profusely for the delay – not his fault but what great customer service.

My advisor interview was a convivial affair and then I went for milk and toddled up to the High Street to wait for the next bus.  Which when it arrived was driven by Space Hopper – not sure what was going on because the two buses I saw him on are not part of the same duty … but never mind!

Once I got home I had lunch and listened to some more of the international conference presentations before returning to jungle patrol.  I couldn’t get to sleep last night for an idea fermenting in my head but I had forgotten it when I started out into the garden.  I did some more clearing, Dog hid under the hammock in his Doggy ManCave and Pup mooched around fetching this and that and stealing a few of my things like the secateurs (they were safely locked) which he was carrying around by one handle!  Then I remembered by brainwave.

Apparently this is Pup being helpful! hmmmm

My big shed got the felt roofing ripped off in the winter gales and I didn’t have anyway to replace so it was sitting with the sovereign board exposed.  Last night I got to thinking that there was a large piece of transparent reinforced tarpaulin in the junk box at the front – I had picked it up 2 years ago when it had blown away from a building site along the road and it was blowing through the village.

I went out front and retrieved it and lo and behold it is almost the perfect size for my shed roof!  So tonight it is temporarily fastened and now I have some cords holding it tomorrow I will take out the screws through the plastic and adjust it so it is overlapping all edges before fixing it in place and refixing the timber trims that hold it down.  Then I think I will refix the cords so they become a permanent addition to help anchor it.  It may not be the most pretty shed roof in the world but it is functional.

My pond isn’t looking too pretty just now either … I will end up having to lift the plants, bail the pond into a couple of large storage containers (there are pond snails so I don’t want to lose them – although this means I need to watch the dogs drinking from the pond because snails may carry nasty parasites).  Then I will need to reset the paving slabs, reseat the liner and fill it back up and then I can do something to clad the horrid concrete and make a seat around the edge – oh and add some fishes.

Cherries on my tree

 

Currants (not sure which colour – this is the only one of three to survive)

My shade loving slate bed is looking a little stressed with my hostas and ferns needing some TLC

However I do have this star of an allium just bursting into flower …

So it turned into a great day … thanks to Space Hopper and a lot of sunshine … and tomorrow I am going to the seaside (I think I will have to go good and early in case there are bus problems – then I will maybe get chance for a paddle if the tide is in.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

