Flushed With Success

I haven’t mentioned this but I have had a slow draining loo for a few days now which has been a bit of  a concern – what if it got to needing a drainage unblocker engineer type person? Anyway in one of those bizarre twists of fate – having mentioned yesterday that things were not flowing out of my head into the blog the physical blockage was suddenly and completely cleared this morning … what a relief (literally) so I am sitting here now hoping that the blogging will be more flowing too.  Shall we see?

I have something very special and exciting to show you – look carefully what do you see?

IMG_2175

Shall I zoom in a little closer?   We had walked just past this wee fledgling – Pup had completely bypassed it thank goodness and Dog was busy sniffing dandelions although he did come rather close while I was trying to get my phone out to snap.  This is a fledged Greenfinch; I am not sure I have ever seen an adult greenfinch but this little mite was sat tight in the clover probably hoping we would hurry up and go away.  Feel so privileged to have seen this so close up.

IMG_2176

He had escaped safely when we returned – on the way back though as we rounded a corner Pup woofed and then wagged – my heart sank as I saw a woman on a bike coming towards us and chatting to Pup.  He backed away briefly (my fear has been that he would jump up and then chase) but then he got his confidence back and ran in front of her a couple of times.  She was very nice and no harm was done and it does start to tick another item off his “I must mind my own business” list.

It was really hot, although would have been worse if we had gone at our usual time but I had waited until later afternoon.  Never the less both boys had a ducking in the only dyke left with decent amount of water in.  It has gone down from last time they jumped in but even so the water came half way up their bodies. Then we sauntered back up the lane – here are a couple of Pup doing his best sauntering off in front.IMG_2177 IMG_2180

You cannot tell in these but he has had another growth spurt – now virtually even size as Dog ad h looks so much bigger than last week which is ridiculous.  Look a the industrial unit in the background – that has grown in completeness too; ugly and highly visible tin shed!

Apart from taking my boys out and dealing with sanitation matters I have spent time today on Project Tick Tock (drawing new plans) and on research for the online learning I am doing – research into use of technology in palliative care.

Oh and I had another ‘engaging’ conversation with the limpet sales staff at a well known nuisance telemarketer.  They have been told repeatedly I wish to be removed from their database and not contacted again about their nasty tacky plastic windows.  Today’s star saleswoman said the company name and launched into her blurb until she drew breath when I said I wasn’t interested in windows thank you.  She said “well can I just ask you about the age of your windows?” “No I do not wish to discuss my windows with you thank you goodbye” and I could hear her start wittering again as I cut the call off.  The age of my windows seems to be their current theme (or is it the new topic of social conversation that I have missed out on in my hermitage?)

That is two calls form them this week and on Tuesday the woman was really stroppy because I refused to be put through to her “advisor” to get my name taken off their database.  The worst bit is they have just advertised for staff for their local call centre through the Universal Jobmatch; their call staff are self-employed so how come they have an advisor?  That reminds me – there are increasing number of self-employed positions advertised on there but this week I have seen some sinking to new lows:  A job where the person is required to pay a fee to apply and then buy a package to work for them and another where staff have to pay a “nominal fee” for uniform.  I made the observation on Wednesday when I signed on that a Government backed vacancy site had no business allowing those adverts with the potential for people to be fleeced when they have no job and little hope of finding a real one.

I still need to go back and add lovely flower pictures form a couple of days ago but as you can see the blog is unblocked too!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

