Expectations and Disappointment

Welcome to poorly house … not me this time but ma wee boy … he has become known as the smelly hobbit today because he has a small tummy upset – sorry make that large – but it doesn’t put him off eating!  So we haven’t been out and tomorrow he will be on starvation diet to clear him up … I won’t describe everything that has emerged from him but it does include a furry toy and a mat he made of fresh grass!

So moving swiftly on!  I have been continuing with my interior design stuff:

I managed to make an outdoors that I was happy with – the scenery photo worked!  But as soon as I moved inside the outside view became bleached out …

I have never had this issue with the scenery function in the design site and so my expectations have always been of getting great scenes through the windows … this weekend I have been disappointed.  And it is not just the view through the window – that paint on the wall is a very dark mocha grey … no really it is!  I want very dark but plain walls in places so I can display original photographs of the area that will be available for sale; I am facing a future of having a lower salary from work I enjoy in my community so possibly having to have several income streams … so my photographs need to start paying their way, as does the sea glass jewellery and the walking guides and my training skills – but I won’t have time to market each separately so I have to use the opportunities available to me.

Next I think I have figured out how I can relocate the stairs to incorporate a lift AND make small extensions downstairs without having to go all out for the full extension possible including upstairs – but I cannot show you those ideas because the rendering has gone haywire again!  I did flag the issues again to the powers that be (it is not just an issue for me – other’s are commenting about the same multiple error issues) and today I got an answer – it will be addressed but there is no timescale because rebranding is taking priority …

Whilst I understand that there is a business focus on a preferred path (and one which I might add I have been asked to contribute to … although having raised the same points twice I am not sure my views are valued) I also understand that for the past 12 months we have struggled wit the programme and many have given up; my fear is that the rush to rebrand will mean more are alienated and then there will be no community left to enjoy the refreshments …

We have an expression “making  a silk purse out of  a sow’s ear” at the moment the buggy programming is a sow’s ear; the rebranding might make it look like a delicate and pretty silk purse until the seams start to unravel … tonight I start to feel the first prickling of apprehension that all my expectations for this wonderful programme are going to be disappointed!

I am not easily persuaded to a negative viewpoint – I can see the positives in almost everything … but just now, in this matter I am struggling!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

