Sheep May Safely Graze … for Tonight at Least!

It has been a strangely disjointed day – but relaxed at least.  There was work going on next door but they were relatively quiet even if the van and trailer right outside caused me some repeat of the traffic noise issues.

I spent the morning working on some interior design ideas and getting very frustrated that I couldn’t get the high quality renders that I wanted.  No doubt the interiors will change several times in any case!

The boys and I went for a mooch and it was interesting that Pup did not stray into the Big Red Tractor’s field even though it wasn’t there today – clearly getting told off for chasing the agricultural ferrari has had an impact on him!  It was also interesting that he was less sticky and was happy to pootle further away again today; he had started staying very close which is no good for a hunting dog and hopefully was just part of a phase that young dogs go through when they get a little fearful of life.

We went down the wee woodland path and I could see the sheep resting in their field at the far end.  Up until now Pup has not even given the sheep a second glance but he had been very interested in their gate today – and I must watch him because he could easily get underneath that one.  Anyway we meandered down to the far end of the path and then I recalled him and turned round – which he did perfectly.  Having ignored the sheep on the way he suddenly caught sight of them and went on point.  I told him to leave but he moved a few steps forward and that made a few sheep move so of course they had his attention then.  I repeated the leave command and recalled him rewarding with a handful of kibble to make it a big reward.  He crossed the ditch and got up on the low stane dyke which meant he could easily have jumped the fence next to it.  Again he was told to leave and given a stop and then a recall whistle and again he came straight to me.  He had one further half hearted look and then forgot about them so for tonight at least the can rest easy.  We need to go past them a good few times in the next few weeks to really get that leave message in his head and then I need to find a field where I can walk him through sheep on a lead …

After that I popped into Kirriemuir to get some photographs of the building I was working on the design for and then went to Forfar for a wee supermarket trip.

I don’t have any photos of my own today but I saw one that made me smile which I will share but first let me ask you a ponder about why people behave the way they do that I should need to ignore their stupidity …

You go somewhere new (it could be a real place or a virtual online place I don’t mind) and you find it a little confusing and you are not sure why things are not working as you expected – what do you do to try ad solve the problems?  My approach is to politely ask for help BEFORE making a complete public ass of myself but apparently some folk think it is just fine to wipe their feet on other people on the way in, behave sneakily and cheekily, demand to know why their fast internet is not giving them a priority service and then get in a snit when they are pulled up for their stupid behaviour … here just to remind me that I cannot stop all kinds of stupid is the pussy cat’s version of that serenity prayer I started my blog with …

I never thought of myself as a sleek and elegant ginger cat … but actually it has its appeal – a cat could bat and spike a special snowflake without anyone saying a word 😉

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

