The Big Red Tractor

Just to start off with some cuteness – more goslings have arrived – so that is eight I have seen now.

Since I had a meeting this morning I took the boys out for an earlier than usual walk … which nearly proved the end of Pup!  As we turned into the lane so did the big red tractor.  That then turned into the field across the dyke that Pup jumps for fun.  Now I understand Pup’s take on this … that field has been fallow ever since he has known it and he jumps the dyke so to all intents and purposes it is his field!

We walked down the lane and since the tractor was stood still I let Pup off his lead as usual.  We walked part way through the larch spinney and then I carefully chose the timing to step back into the lane so the tractor was at the far end of the field.  Since Pup is worse on the lead than off AND he had been very cautiously staying on our side of the dyke I simply made him walk close rewarding him as we went and he was fine – never even looked as the big red tractor passed us going in the opposite direction.  Once we were well passed it I relaxed the close requirement at which point Pup decided to jump the dyke and chase the big red tractor.  He hesitated when I shouted his name but caught right up to the back of the harrow before he responded to the “No” and came back – and even then he was after going again.  It is nothing short of miraculous that he didn’t get pulled under!  So more work needed on his chase responses – on big red tractors!

After my meeting to discuss the next steps of the “Steps for Health” Walking Group I decided to wander through the Den and then to Loch of Kinnordy for a look see.  It is incredible to see how many flowers are suddenly appearing – god news for our pollinating insects like this poor injured bumble bee

Blue bells

Bluebells in the Den

Celandine carpet!

Just at the top left of that picture you can see some orange “z”s … this is a barrier across the middle path which has had to be closed for a landslide at the other end behind the Cuttlewell

Lady's Smock

Lady’s Smock OR Cuckoo Flower

According to folklore the very pretty Lady’s Smock was said to be sacred to the fairies which meant it was considered unlucky to bring it indoors and it was also never included in MayDay Garlands.  It has also been used as a watercress substitute in the past and sure enough I found this growing right on the moist embankment of the Gairie Burn in the Den.

Next up another pretty flower with several names … the wood anemone or Windflower … and I found two different forms: These with puffy extra petals in the centre …

Wood anemone

… and these rather more simple forms:

Next I stopped to photograph the Cuttle Well.  Before the picture here are a few links relating to the Den and the Cuttle Well – check out these vintage postcards lovingly recorded by a Kirriemarian (I got a shock looking at the site since it includes a newsreel and there at the first item this evening is the Herald piece about the litter.

From here I went on the footpath out to the RSPB reserve at Loch of Kinnordy

Spurge

A spurge

 

Ash

Ash buds, flowers and emerging leaves

 

Mrs Pheasant pretending not to be there – guess she has a nest!

 

Equisetum in the Loch fringes

 

But these are not anemone’s – these are Wood Sorrel, a member of the shamrock family

 

Lacy Rowan flower heads and leaf bracts

 

And finally … some more cuteness!

Nice Face pulling Ewe!

 

Oh My just look at those little chubbies!

So so weather, slightly sore feet (new boots still needing breaking in some) but a good walk with lots to see on the way.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

