Unfurling …

Look the fluffballs have arrived! three tiny goslings (well they were tiny when I first spotted them last week – they have almost doubled in size already).  These little cuties share the paddock with the two ponies and they just seem to ignore one another but every year seeing these makes me smile.

I was taking pictures of them when I realised that the chap with the failed guide dog pet was trying to come past … except he wasn’t because he was frozen to the spot dithering – why didn’t he pop back 10 paces and into the driveway if he didn’t want to walk past me? but no having seen him I had to go back and find a driveway so he could walk his sensitive little precious past!

Then as we went down the lane I could see folks coming the other way with something like a go kart – that wasn’t going to end well if Pup got close to them!  So I called him in, sat him up popped a finger through his collar and bribed him to stay still.  The chap did ask if he was unfriendly and I said on the contrary he would be in the buggy with the child who was shouting a happy hello to me.  I did let Pup go and he went to say hello to the older child who was walking and did come away without jumping up when  he was called.  Pup is just at that delicate stage where he is a little fearful of new things but excited too and he still has to fully learn social graces when meeting new people and objects.  He won’t learn them if I never let him off lead or to meet folk but at the same time I don’t want him hurting a youngster or other animal.

A short while later we met Fergus and his person – Pup was talked through he greeting with reminders not to jump up and he did very well with only one little attempt a jumping and Fergus’ person knows to tell him no.  Dog was less polite because we were in the field and he couldn’t get across to greet Fergus so he yipped! but he did quickly calm down again which is turning into a regular pattern now.

Really good to see all the leaf buds opening now like these besides the burn.  Pup took himself across and up the far bank for a nosey, jumped back and then paddled across to another part of the bank for  a look see.  Finally he jumped the burn and wandered off into the beech woods – but he soon came back to my whistle!

His young beasts were waiting to say hello and he ran up and down their gate wagging his tail like a loon – but it was me they greeted with their rough baby cow tongues.  Then on the way back I spotted two different fern/brackens just starting to unfurl their new leaves:

Tags: , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

