Some People Should not be Out Alone!

Okay I know that is a small picture and grainy – it was taken last night at 23:30 with flash outside my house.  What you are looking at is the rubber strip (supposed to be holding down the electric cable) and the electric cable to the traffic lights all tangled up and dragged 40m along the road from the place where it was twisting yesterday evening at 18:15 to outside my porch.  The traffic lights that had been attached were lying in the road 40m from where they had been stood and neither set of lights was working because the generator had also been dragged along the road and landed in the roadworks right outside my neighbours bedroom window.

I couldn’t just go to bed and leave that so I called the Police again.  While I waited I hauled that tangle onto the side of the road where the traffic wasn’t.  The Police came down really quickly and tidies up the other debris.  At 01:06 I was woken up by the GAP traffic light maintenance person and his van and trailer.  The lights had been reinstated with the generator unbelievably left under my neighbours bedroom window and switched back on.

I write a complaint this morning to the contractors citing their responsibility for site health and safety issues and objecting to the Police time that has been wasted sorting their incompetence out.  I have copied that to the neighbours, the Police ad the Council Roads Department.  Apparently the roadworks are scheduled to stay until next Wednesday so having already lost 5 nights sleep we could be losing another 5!

Apparently the GAP engineer last night was rude to my neighbour when he was asked to keep the noise down so a complaint has been made against him.  This picture shows the generator in one of the ‘holes’ right outside my neighbours bedroom and lounge.

IMG_2045

By this evening the Generator has been moved so my neighbours should get some sleep but although the traffic lights have been moved along the road because of the barriers the cars still have to stop outside my bedroom window (roughly under the dormer window that you can see right at the far side of the picture)

Aside from all the incompetence of the contractor I cannot help but wonder how any driver can drag a generator and a set of traffic lights along the road without being aware and then stopping to either clean up or ask for Police assistance … on the extremely rare off chance that you are reading this – thank you from the bottom of my very tired heart!! NOT

My mood hasn’t been helped today by persistent stair rod type rain which has just not let up at all! and which will make the noise outside tonight even more.

I did buy myself some new walking boots today with some of my tax refund.  Given how many miles I am walking these days and that I have had leaky boots all winter I had no difficulty justifying this expenditure and they were so ridiculously girly with their royal purple trim … oh and they were less than half price in the sale – I would not have paid the full price for them even if they had had silk linings!

IMG_2050

The salesman reminded my they would need breaking in but I think like my Brasher supalites it won’t be much to break them in and they are lightweight boots.  My heavyweight Brasher boots are repairable  so I will have two definitely serviceable pair of boots and my brasher supalites will still do this spring in dry weather.  I would ideally have like some ratchet cleats like my Supalites have so even if the laces come undone the boot is still firm around the foot – nut not one pair like that in the store.  These ones are by Merrell and they had some nice lightweight walking shoes by the same folk too so maybe a summer pair later on in the year.

The rest of my day was mundane stuff really – leaky buses (leaking on the driver not me); late running buses (traffic queuing into Dundee); and passengers who really hadn’t a clue!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

