Upside Down Day

I was waiting for a call this morning … to agree the write up in the local paper about the litter collection.  I waited and waited but it didn’t happen.  So I got on and had a quick pooch mooch and then  into Kirriemuir to the cash machine to get money for the bus to Forfar and the supermarket.

The weather is continuing fine and mostly sunny with a stiff breeze but very pleasant indeed.  Fortunately the roadworks have been quiet today so it has only been the traffic sitting at the lights that has been slightly intrusive.  I had a pleasant walk into Kirriemuir and definitely my laryngitis is clearing because I could push myself up the braes but I did have a little wheezy cough at the top of each brae which soon settled.  The driver, despite having sold me a jobseeker ticket last week and being given the same crib sheet details couldn’t find the ticket so told me to take a seat – free bus ride!  Not good business for the bus company but good customer service and I did offer the information for him to sell me the ticket.

As I walked down to the supermarket I got  a call from the newspaper and since I was just passing the offices I popped in and we talked instead of wasting a phone bill.  Next up was the supermarket where I spent slightly too much (oops) but was out just in time for the bus back which was nice not to have to wait an hour for the next one.

Having unpacked and stowed the shopping and a chat on the phone with my Mum I took the boys for an evening walk – a first for Pup.

I have been trying to photograph this for a few days but the wind has been too strong.  These are the Ash buds all bursting open aren’t they intriguing? but great to see a healthy Ash population on the estate which apparently has planted Ash over the few years so would be particularly hard hit if the dieback comes to this area.

Ash Buds

Another species in the headlines are our local beaver population which are not the official study population but which will be studied in the wild to assess the impact they have on our landscape.  It is  a relief to know what I should do if Pup should happen to retrieve a deceased beaver – well he finds all sorts of other strange objects!

On today’s walk he Pointed and flushed two roe; stopping and then  recalling to his whistles rather than chasing so I was very pleased with him.

Roe DoeRoe Doe

Then we walked through a farm lane and just as he got back off lead again to go get a drink one of the lads appeared on his bicycle so the lead went back on.  There is something about country youngsters; they always greet people so cheerfully unlike town youth who mumble if they speak at all – well at least this lad does and it is the second time I have encountered him on a walk.

We continued on back up the woodland walk ad round the sheep field with a quick pause to see if the beasts were there.  Just as we got to the top of the estate road I could see a rider coming down on her horse so we veered just into the larch spinney and the lead went back on.  She stopped for a chat and I explained that Pup is horse aware but not yet reliable around horses with riders and I don’t want him to cause an accident.  She thanked me for being considerate and for taking the dogs to meet the ponies round the paddocks.

As she rode off I could see a dog coming down the road with two people so we lingered in the spinney but I did let Pup off his lead and took him to find a tin can to hold – a buzzard dropped down out of  a tree and Pup catching sight of it followed about 20m before returning to me.  By this time I could see the dog coming down was a GSD puppy so I allowed Pup to go say hello; the puppy was a little overcome by Pup’s bumptiousness but both he and Dog did greet it.  Dog was yipping a little which was unnerving the puppy but I explained he was excited and having been allowed to say hello he calmed quickly.

I called Pup up and we took a quick striding walk home to get a god rest.  So more new experiences for Pup and more tests of his training and more tests for Dog of his doggy greeting behaviours – they are good boys really.  And for me – well another long standing member of the community (the horesewoman) getting to know me and hopefully some publicity will raise more interest in volunteering to keep our community a lovely place to live.

And just to round the day off I had a young police officer chapping my door at 22:30 … it is okay I am not in bother – the traffic lights at the roadworks are malfunctioning (both directions on red!) and he was looking for clues as to who is responsible for them … I have my uses apparently.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

