Say ARRGGHH! (Wish I Could)

Shall I tell you the highlight of my day? I got a cheery wave from Weather Guru … whatever the weather his cheery wave is a constant and it makes me smile.

I started slowly this morning with a long lie and a leisurely breakfast.  I reviewed some stuff from earlier in the week and then I started some job applications.  Next thing I knew it was almost 2pm and I was still in my PJs!  After a clean up and some clothes I set off to take the boys for  a mooch.  We paused to chat with the girl ponies and then carried on down the lane.  On the estate the wee beasts (Scots for cattle) were looking to their gate so I sat Dog up to see if the nosey wee creatures could be tempted over for Pup to see.

True to their nosey nature they approached a little gingerly and Pup suddenly seeing them dashed to the gate to bark at them.  He was told no and recalled – which we had to repeat twice but he then did come away and stay away.  I will get some pictures of them when I can because they really are small and cute.

We walked on a little way – seeing  a glimpse of a very handsome cock pheasant – before turning back.  This time Pup was turned before he got to the beat’s field gate and there was no woofing although a little hesitant stand of defiance.  As we waked up the lane Pup suddenly took off across the field right to the middle, collected something and brought it back.  He had the bone from a lamb shank which he presented to me.  I rewarded him with some kibble and managed to discreetly get rid of the cooked bone which had probably been raided from a bin and left there by a crow.

As we returned passed the girl ponies’ paddock Pup dipped his had and collected another object; I asked to see and he had the bone from a lamb cutlet – again cooked.  That was confiscated and I had no choice but to hurl it over to the far verge; if I had tried to carry it until we reached a bin the dogs would have both been trying to snatch it.

I had wanted to take the recyclables up to the recycling centre today but it was almost 4 and I had promised Evelyn I would visit.  Half way there a car pulled over and the woman got out – it was one of my ex colleagues who wanted a quick catch up – which was lovely but then I got in trouble from Evelyn because I was so late.  Evelyn had set a tray with a teapot and so on and had had a sandwich ready for me, but having decided I wasn’t bothering she had started her tea.  I made myself a cup of tea and declined the sandwich.  I do understand that my visits are a highlight for her (and I enjoy them too)  but at the same time sometimes things don’t go to plan – like me still feeling rough and other people wanting to chat to me.

So a very mundane day for the most part and one which I will be happy to close my eyes on at bedtime – my throat is not as bad as yesterday but I still have a stupid little raspy cough and pressure in my ears which just makes me feel miserable.  I cannot actually say Arrrggghh because that tickles my throat but I can see that my throat is clear and normal coloured so I am confident that it is laryngitis I have brought on by my hayfever … there is no quick fix so I just have to give myself a little TLC and rest my voice.  This becomes very frustrating when  the dogs try to take advantage by being naughty boys and getting up to mischief just to get a noise out of me!

I also got irritated by being told by Evelyn that I don’t really have hayfever because my hayfever isn’t like her deceased husband’s hayfever was and he always took tablets that stopped it.  I have repeatedly explained that I avoid taking meds whenever possible and certainly those that have side effects or make me drowsy like anti-histamines can do.  I didn’t add that some anti-histamines have been linked to increased risks of cancers.  I prefer to use a nasal balm to block pollen getting into my airways in the first place and that after this first onslaught at the start of the season mine usually settles down.

Anyway I plan another early night and a lazy day tomorrow in the hope of recovery tomorrow or Monday … I do feel better today without the furry dangling ball in the throat sensation that was so distressing yesterday!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

