Whether the Weather be Hot …

How atmospheric is that?  I love seeing shafts of sunlight through dark clouds.  It wasn’t as warm today because there was more cloud around but I did go out in a t-shirt this afternoon and this morning Pup and Dog were sunbathing out in the yard; I am so impressed at how relaxed Dog is outside now Pup is here having never seen him lie down out there before.

I spent much of today following up on things from yesterday, adding items to the Community Council Facebook page and dealing with calls and e-mail about volunteering opportunities.  You won’t be surprised to hear I am really interested in volunteering that involves walking?

When we went for the boys stroll Dog met some old friends and Pup made new ones:

Meet Dog’s Pony Girls!  The chestnut one I call Ginger because she has the same sort of character as the mare in Black Beauty but she has learned not to nip me of Dog.  As we arrived by their paddock she appeared at the fence very excited to see us.  I encouraged her to come further along where she wasn’t wedged in the hedge to chat.

Dog gave her a friendly wag, a yip and then sat up and he does with her – she then plays kissy kissy and he tries to dodge her!  Of course Pup doesn’t know the rules of the game so he got up on his back legs, front feet on the top wire of the fence and planted a doggy kiss right in the middle of her nose.  Surprisingly she took it very well and just looked at him then let me scratch her forehead.

I call the dark bay one Missy and she is much shyer so she didn’t come right to the fence today – she will when she is ready; then there might be too many doggy kisses because Dog does kiss her.

I didn’t stay out over long for the walk today because I needed to pop and see Evelyn.  However we had two vehicles pass us on the lane and Pup did a beautiful recall to hand signal for the first truck – the driver was clearly impressed and grinned and waved.  The second van form the sewage works I recalled pup by whistle and clipped his lead on – he did try to bounce at the van as it passed but he was too far away to reach – all important lessons for him.

However the star of the walk today was Dog.  As we got back to the top of the lane two people turned in front of us with two lurchers.  He strained  a little on his headcollar and clearly knew there were dogs there but he never uttered a squeak and he didn’t jump around like an idiot.  A huge improvement.

On my way back to see Evelyn I saw two of the geese that share the Girl Pony paddock and in the background is Dog’s Moriarty Terrier!

After a visit with Evelyn I came away with few more bits and bobs to help her with so tomorrow will be a paperwork and phone calls day.  Here are some more weather related photographs from the journey home:

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

