Best Laid Plans …

It will become clear in due course why I have an apparently boring picture of part of a tree on my camera roll today … at least the lichens make it quite decorative!

This morning I got a long lie – not my intention but I dozed back off and the boys didn’t waken me because before the weekend it was their getting up time anyway!  I finally finished ambling through breakfast by 11 – no I wasn’t up that late it just took me  along time.  Next I had a phone call form a local journalist looking for contact details for the Community Council chairman.  It turned out he had provided her with his e-mail address but had not answered her e-mail. I pointed her at some information sources and discussed how that was tailored to our Community Council and let her know I would update the Chairman.

Next when I went off to get organised Pup decided to do something naughty.  I heard a todo and came out of the bathroom to find pieces of a document shredded in the garden and the lounge.  The little darling creature had been on the dining table, in my large bag and helped himself to an original document.  I wasn’t cross with him because he was just being a pup and having recovered all the pieces I can tape the important bit together and get a reprint of the rest!

However he did find himself crated for 10 minutes while I finished getting organised to take the boys out.

As we set off for our walk I collected the bag with his dummies in and added my camera.  Once down the lane and into the Estate grounds I heard a familiar call and looked to see a flock of curlew circling.  This is a poor photograph because they were a field away:

Then I tried a little retrieve in a place were the bank drops down and flattens out by the burn – my thinking being that if I get him retrieving from this side of the burn it is only a small extra distance to lob the dummy across the burn for him to retrieve.  He wasn’t too keen so after two retrieves I put the dummy away and we continued down a path we haven’t used before.

I would love to be able to get that piece of timber home and make a feature in the garden …

We continued in the little den between fields.  At one part Pup went on point and ventured down into a dip to explore; I stopped to watch but he decided there was nothing there and clambered back to the path.  A little further on there was a trickle of water through a low lying area and Pup took himself paddling following a scent; I was about to recall when he again clambered back up to the path and returned to me.

Next Pup took himself into a little area of saplings and I could see pigeon feathers so I carried on walking with the intention of hiding.  He galloped after us and was eating something.  I made him  come to me and checked what was in his mouth … he had found a lucky rabbits foot!  Now I am assured there are no foxes on the estate but how would a set of pigeon feathers and part of  a rabbit come to be lying in such cover – it isn’t the place a bird of prey would drop it’s leavings?

We continued along the path until it dropped down on to the estate road.

I decided not to cut along in front of the big house but to circle to the right and join up to the track we walked the other day past the disused farm … well that was the plan at least!  I popped Pup on his lead since it was a road and we were venturing into new territory; this made for slow going since he kept edging ahead and I kept moving backwards, turning or just stopping until he loosened his leash.

I could hear a woodpecker at intervals, and could see buzzards flying out over the open fields ahead.  We got to a wee stone bridge over the burn and there was a small bird climbing in spirals up a tree – this is why I have lots of tree pictures on the camera because the wee creature was so fast that  kept missing it!  Can you see the TreeCreeper in this picture? It is about a third of the way up the main tree trunk – you can see a brown fuzzy shape hopefully:

I wasn’t sure what it was at the time but I knew it was a first for me and I had never seen one before.  We carried on and found the road we needed but as we got to the branch I intended taking there was a tractor reversing up it.  So instead we took the other branch and headed out to the Glamis Road.  This made for  a big circuit (almost 4 miles) with  a lot of lead walking which doesn’t hurt once in a while.

I did consider taking the route across the stubble field to join up with the track we used the other day (local convention being that if the gates of  a stubble field are left open the farmer will not object to people walking on it.) but decided (a) it was a long backtrack and (b) knowing there are hares in the field I would not have let Pup off lead so we gained little.  However knowing that field is open was useful knowledge because I will keep Pup away from the bottom gate even though it is  along run uphill to the main road and I may well take Pup on that stubble on his own off lead at the bottom end of the field under close control – it is good for pups to be exposed to game scent and kept controlled.

It took us two hours to complete and the only low point was when Pup found a piece of discarded chewing gum (poisonous to dogs) which I had to get him to spit out.  Since we got back both dogs have been relaxed and sleepy.

Now Pup is extending his training opportunities and range I need to get back into the habit of making his training diary blog entries separate from this one otherwise you will all be getting fed up of the technical training nuances.  So there we are – our best laid plans have just all gone awry today but that makes life more of an adventure doesn’t it and 4 miles is a good healthy distance for me to walk at least!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

