Beware the Full Moon Pup!

One of my aims for 2013 was to photograph every full moon – March wasn’t kind for Moon photography – the sky was virtually completely clouded the whole month but the day before Full Moon it did peep though some veiled cloud.  The first picture is on the full moon date through the cloud and then in all it’s glory when the cloud cleared later that night:

That was a few days ago but it seems to have had a strange effect on my wee mannie …

The neighbours builders were making noise today even though it was Easter so I set off to take Pup for a small training session with a home made retrieving dummy (a walking sock with a small hole in stuffed with some old cotton/bamboo socks of mine which have gone a grungy grey or worn thin at the heels – don’t worry I still have plenty of socks!).  I wanted to see if he would retrieve back to me across the dyke.

As soon as he was released from his lead he dashed off because the geese were close to the lane fence; he couldn’t get to them so I didn’t try to stop him since it is good for young gundogs to work out that birds can get away from them – it is how they learn that they need their human to be successful and get a bird in their mouth to retrieve.  The geese dutifully obliged by moving away with wings flapping so he stopped and looked at them.

I got the sock dummy out of the bag so it started to excite him and take his mind of the geese.  The first throw was not in an ideal section of the dyke and he grunted a little on landing but he happily retrieved it straight to me.  We moved along the lane and found a better place for him and he did a couple more retrieves.

Then he sat up for his reward so I snapped a picture.  Asked him to stay so I could back a little further away to get a better picture and this is what I got:

Gotta love that expression!

Clearly the full moon effect is to make puppies pull funny faces? LOL What I was hoping for was more like this:

After that I did one retrieve throw for him with his tennis ball – he went straight out and found some poo – came back without the ball. Knowing that if he didn’t retrieve it I had a decent walk to get round and collect it I sat him up pointed to the ball and sent him again – he collected the ball immediately and returned it to me for his reward.

He was so chuffed with himself he then walked at heel form choice most of the way back up the lane. We popped along to see Evelyn – who had anticipated our visit having seen us as she passed on the bus.   We watched the University boat race over a cup of tea and a chocolate biscuit each – Well done Oxford crew and an appropriate memorial for Acer Nethercott.  It was amusing that we were watching without the sound and several times I made a comment on the rowers performance only to have the commentators comment come up on subtitles saying almost word for word the same.

So an interesting alternative Easter Day – but I am so thrilled with my Pup …

Happy Easter a the Picnic EGGStravaganza

Tags: , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

