Horizontal Blizzard

Sadly no photographs today – the snow was spectacular but I just couldn’t manage to unwrap enough digits to use the camera; from that you may deduce that it was cold but it was also blowing a gale and so the snow was being delivered horizontally at head height!  It is coming in under the back door the force of the wind is so strong and it is due to stay this way for a few days with temperatures bottoming out tomorrow.

I have referred my bank complaint to the Ombudsman; how refreshing to receive a greeting on an automated system that is delivered by the boss in a calm clear voice and with no confusion about which option one needs to select; it made me relaxed and almost immediately my call was answered by a very helpful and kind woman.  Now I have a case reference my Bank will be required to hold any action until the matter is now addressed by the Ombudsman.  First step is completing the paperwork which is in the post to me.  As far as the bank is concerned I will only detail one thing here – the letter responding to my complaint contained errors, not the least of which was an error in my account reference  – correct in some paragraphs but not all and I was able to indicate to the Ombudsman that it is the level of incompetence that I have been faced with.

That doesn’t solve my financial situation but it does mean I am not just lying down in front of the large institutionalised financial bulldozer as many people feel they have to do.

Partly through being cold and partly through having dealt with this matter I have struggled with focus the rest of the day.  The Under the weather card is almost done; a tutorial I am making is 50% there and I have noted a couple of jobs to look at in more detail tomorrow when my brain is less fuzzy again.

Despite the weather I did take the two dogs out although we stopped short of the woods.  Pup enjoyed trotting down the lane and jumping back and forth across the dyke and Dog was very well behaved on his lead.  We enjoyed it but the snow in the face was not the nicest bit I must admit.

I think the best bit of my day though was tea – a big macaroni cheese and tomato bake which was very warming. The other highlight was an unintended funny from Toxic – he was telling me about someone he knows dying just a few weeks after their cancer was diagnosed (that of course is not amusing) apparently they had, according to Toxic, Cancer of the Sarcophagus … I must admit it didn’t register with me straight away what he had said it was only afterwards I was thinking it wasn’t quite right somehow.

I am off for an early night – my throat is threatening to be sore and I want to be warm … the electric blanket has been warming my bed and that is where I am going to get cozy and try get a good long sleep … bears are very sensible creatures aren’t they? they have thick shaggy fur coats and they sleep through the winter!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

