Did I get BackOnBoard?

First off I have failed on the photos again today … the weather has been vile and I just wasn’t holding my camera for long enough in that wet and cold to get a picture of well wet and cold!

Heavy rain overnight (I heard it when I went to the bathroom) had turned into sleety snow when I got up.  It snowed all morning but was struggling to lay on the wet ground.   I set off with two furballs for a constitutional – we didn’t get very far; small furball (otherwise known as Pup) wanted to chase every snowflake and was all over the place plus my fingers were so numb I wasn’t sure they were still there!  Me and Dog sheltered behind a big umbrella walking back with the wind whipping mini snowballs into the front of us.

Then I went off to see Evelyn – she wants to do some decluttering so that whether she gets the move to sheltered accommodation or not she has made a little bit more space in her home.  I have promised her an hour every day this week to shuffle furniture round for her.  That done my challenge was to be able to sue my newly issued Job Centre Discount Travel Card to access BackOnBoard fares on the bus.

I got on where the road is narrow and the driver could not immediately find the fare on his ticket machine; I suggested he do it when he got to Kirriemuir Square.  Then he met  a bus trying to come round the cross roads in the opposite direction so he had to take a wrong route briefly to be able to avoid the whole road network being jammed solid.  In Kirrie he found the sequence he needed and the ticket was delivered in two pieces! Then he couldn’t remember how he had found it so he went back through to get t sequence and wrote it down for me so next time the driver has an easy guide.

I had to go to two places at opposite sides of Forfar but I got my messages done and returned to the High Street for the College bus at 17:20.  On my way I saw Toxic driving around – some three plus hours after he finished his shift.

I just let Pup out for  a pee and had to dig our way out at he back door – and I managed a few photos out at the front plus a snapshot of tomorrow’s weather forecast!

lottasnow

So the dogyard area is a sea of mud with several cm of snow now floating about on top of it and tomorrow we are due heavier blizzards … tempting to just hibernate tomorrow – this is where a remote controlled back door would come in handy so I could send the boys out but stay cosy myself 😉

Off to prize my boots off my chilly feet and get burrowed into my duvet.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

