I had a Great Idea …

… for a thoughtful blog post – but I have walked the dogs since and now I cannot recall what it was!  Then there was an event that I cannot currently blog about – it isn’t my event and there may be some repercussions in a day or so!

So I will blog about the dogs and the neighbour’s workmen … getting deja vu already?

At least being a Sunday the work next door did not start till around 09:30 … but then it started with lots of electric saw noise, hammering, vibrations which sounded like they were from something hitting my house and yet their extension is a good 2 metres away from mine!  The joiner had his ‘lad’ helping him … a more disinterested and gormless lump of  a lad I have yet to see – he looked as if he totally left his gorm at home this morning (although I would guess his gorm hasn’t been out with him for a very long time!)  It was quite amusing to watch him move a bit of timber and then move it back again … and bless him even Pup didn’t bark at him!

They were using an electric chop saw in the pishing down rain … rather them than me and I love my chop saw; just love to use it in dry conditions!

Pup was very good – 4 small woofs and then he desisted and just stood up on his back legs at the fence watching the joiner on their roof.  I do hope he doesn’t cause an incident that results in someone falling because he is so keenly interested and they get distracted.  Not sure why he is keenly interested – is it the men or is it the timber?

Just before lunch we set off for our mooch – I was suitably waterproofed and I swapped Dog’s halter to one that clips the lead on under his chin – this because when Pup chooses to walk on my right Dog was getting his halter twisted round his face.  Today was much better – he walked much more close to me and didn’t pull once.  Pup was not too bad with only  a short bit of pulling; however off lead he was very adventurous and we had to hide several times to keep him remembering to look for us.

When I have tried getting him to play with a tennis ball in the woods before he has had no interest but I have been doing a little exercise with him and his kibble treats; ask him to sit and touch my hand with his nose and I throw the kibble to the side or over his head – he goes gets his reward  and returns to touch my hand again.  So having done that three or four times I pulled out the tennis ball and next time he touched I tossed that – he went and looked and then came back to me so I tossed a bit of kibble to the same place.  He returned again without the ball so I made it clear I had a treat for him and sent him off to fetch up the ball – which he did and got his reward.  We repeated and this time he got the idea straight away.  A little further on I dropped the tennis ball as I walked.

On the return he had obviously spotted his tennis ball so I told him to seek it and fetch up which he did with no hesitation.  I put the ball away then so as not to overwhelm him.  He walked back up most of the lane off his lead with a few metres of voluntary at heel between his little escapades across the dyke.

Tomorrow I have a fair bit on – it is ‘pay day’ so I need to order dog food, then try my new bus discount ticket out to go do my shopping and then I have said I will go help Evelyn for  a short stint every afternoon with some decluttering.  I need to get some time out with just Pup in this week so hopefully the snow is going to stay away – he doesn’t bother about the weather but I am fed up of being cold and wet!  I will try and take him for a decent bit of exercise and then to Evelyn’s a couple of times during the week.

Aside from that it has been a quiet day and so grey, wet and overcast that I have no photographs – I was tempted to go back out with the camera after the dog walk but my combats were already wet up to the knees and I didn’t fancy removing walking boots to change trousers and put boots back on – so I stayed put.  Now I need to remember what it was I was going to write and make a note so I don’t forget again.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

