Lions and Lambs?

Got a lovely happy wave from Weather Guru earlier … gosh I miss our discussions! SIGH

Anyway it prompted me to ponder a weather saying “March comes in like a lion and goes out like  a lamb” … only it came in all balmy and lamblike and now we have the roaring lion – more snow again today,  although it didn’t settle – we got white over when we went for our walk early afternoon.

I went to see Evelyn today, as I had promised I would.  She has had a letter about her housing appeal and I needed to see what it said and discuss it with her.  It will be reviewed by an appeal panel and she will hear from them within a week of them sitting.  She had been to the Audiology clinic this morning and they have said what hearing she does have is very poor but they would like to try a newer type of hearing aid for her so she is to go back in a months time.  She is quite down right now and thinks she should just accept that they won’t give her a move.  Next week I have said I will pop up every day and help her with some decluttering she wants to do; if she stays put she will have more space and if she moves it will be easier to do.

We had one of our frank discussions about life and death … I don’t think many folk take her on when she talks about dying; I don’t think they know what to say to her.  She said to me that she has had a very good life with lots of fun and laughter and lots of love.  She also said she misses her Donald and is finding some of her health issues becoming  a bigger burden and she is not upset at the thought of dying but she doesn’t want to be left alone dying for a long time or to be hospitalised for  along time and incapacitated.

In return I told her that I hate the thought but know that she will die one day and I hope that I make a difference while she is here.  For me it is rather like having a new grandma – I loved both my grandmothers very dearly but they both died over 10 years ago now and it is like I have another chance to love someone lie a grandma.

On the other hand Toxic excelled himself … his wages are short – and eventually he came up with a reason which sounded off; at the end of the day his money and he is the only person he is deceiving.  Then he phoned and complained that my phone wasn’t working; told him my phone was fine and I had none of the 8 missed calls I was accused of ignoring so he hung up.  Texted to ask why he had phoned just to give me a row?  Eventually he rang back, during which conversation when the phone cover was mentioned and I said I hadn’t put it on the phone because I was annoyed at how it was thrown at me he told m not to be obstinate … if there is one thing that will make me stand my ground it is that!

Sorry for no pictures today – between the snow and the grey leaden skies I didn’t find any photo opportunities – I will try and do better tomorrow when I go for my Adviser interview at the job centre.

Tags: , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

