Toxic Solution!

Okay well Toxic solved his gift delivery problem today in a most charming and courteous manner NOT.  But first let me start at the beginning  and slot him in to the correct timeframe.

Having needed to traipse to the bathroom a couple of times during the night when I did fall asleep I seem to have managed to somehow twist both hips in the opposite direction to one another – so when I was woken by Pup I was very uncomfortable and it took me  a while to come to and be able to relax the muscles and stuff … fortunately he just shuffled his bed forward in the crate and waited patiently for me!  Whereas last week getting up was easier because it was getting lighter earlier and warmer – the cold has made me want to hibernate again!

Tomorrow I have to go to the Job Centre and have to provide more evidence that I am using their fabulous Universal Job Match.  So this morning I wasted my time capturing the past week’s job data and analysing it in a spreadsheet.  I also added my browser history with evidence of all my job search activity in a typical 24 hour period – I realised that I am keeping wiping the browser history just to keep the computer going so I then don’t have evidence of my activity – so every week before I clear the cache I will take a sample on a different day of the week.

After that I had received an e-mail with some details and an application form to complete – so I started on that.  I also made a copy of the “Back on Board” promotion that Stagecoach East Scotland are running to help people out of work use the bus service for half price – I want to ask for one of the travel cards tomorrow.

I have noticed that Pup now only wants to rest for around an hour after breakfast and so by mid morning he was pestering for his walk and the boys had the back door open to play in the snow bound dog yard.  The wind had dropped so it was bearable to do that today.  All of a sudden there was a bang woosh scrape and a large piece of timber rushed past me.  Pup had brought in a metre length of wood 2cm by 4cm … I have no idea where he got it from – can see nothing obviously missing in the garden … and jumped cleanly with it balanced in his mouth onto the sofa.  I retrieved it form him and returned it outside outwith his reach.

Once I was ready we set off to have our walk which got off to a ropey start on two counts:  Firstly there was a chap stood by his car along the road having  smoke.  Pup assumed that this was an invitation to play so I had to keep stopping him and reversing to get him back at heel.  The chap did offer to move off the pavement – I thanked him but said Pup has to learn.  When we did pass both dogs did it very calmly with no attempt to jump up – well done boys.

Next I could see Dogs ‘terrier enemy’ heading up the road in front of us.  He uses the same lane and often turns back half way so we were scuppered.   Dog could see him in front of us but did not make any fuss – well done Dog!  As I was walking along deciding how to vary our route there was a toot and Toxic waved – on the same side of the road as I was walking – he carried on.  We walked further on past the lane end and then to a small park where Pup had some off lead then back along a different road.  I could see the terrier walker heading back but he was well down the lane so I hurried the boys along to stay in front.

Pup delayed us by stopping for a Poo which I had to scoop and bag.  We carried on – me with kibble in each hand encouraging my good boys to walk nicely and quietly on their leads … another toot and a phone cover comes flying across the road at us.  I was seriously minded to leave it where it landed on the road; talk about lack of respect for another person!  There was nothing coming along the road and I hate littering so I did pick it up but I was really annoyed that it meant stopping my well behaved boys, disrupting their pattern of walking and risking the terrier catching up with us so that I could make Pup do something he is constantly being told not to do – go on the road!

I texted and asked when I had ever thrown a gift at Toxic – his reply was “only chance I had” in other words I am being difficult because I won’t chase round on his timeframe!  At the moment the phone cover is on my desk and I haven’t decided whether to throw it back at him next time I encounter him!

We settled Dog in on his bed with some biscuit and I took Pup straight back out on his lead.  Dog gave a few unhappy barks but so be it.  We walked into Kirriemuir and I sat on a bench in the square while Pup was on a long lead.  He tried several times to run up to people but they were all just too far away.  He quietly watched dogs going past around him … no squeaks, no yips and no hackles.  He was getting regular kibble treats to keep him working at it but he was really very good and very relaxed.

PupPup

I spotted a person I wanted to not have to speak to so we set off back towards home.  He had been such a good boy I decided to let him have an off lead down the lane to the Wastewater Treatment Works … he was so pleased with himself jumping over the dyke and he is such an athletic an elegant dog he is a joy to watch.  Here he is taking himself to have a nosy in the field:

Finally I had to sort out  a quote for the paper on behalf of the Community Council – new Chairman has not responded to request to do so; another Community Councillor involved is in bed with flu so I had to sort it out …

So I have had a reasonable day, Dog has had a good day, Pup has had an excellent day and Toxic – well I guess she has had a toxic day doing  a shift he hates and not getting the gushingly appreciative response he obviously thinks he should be getting from me.  You know what they say “What goes around comes around” … keep that in mind Toxic!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

