One is Not Amused

I thought I would sleep well last night after taking the sea air … alas I could not get settled – it felt like there was a draught coming in under the duvet – I can never find the source of a draught when that happens it just irritates me.  Eventually after a bathroom visit an a good shuffle around I found the cosy ‘setting’ I had been looking for and drifted off … only to be woken what seemed like 10 minutes (but was in fact a good four hours) later by Pup.  It was our normal getting up time so quite reasonable that he was ready to do so.

I quickly pulled on some layers, went to the loo and then let the dogs out for a pre breakfast poo and pee.  They breakfasted and I had just sat down with my toast (second batch the first got burned) and coffee when the noise started next door.  8am on a Saturday and they are taking out a window – which they then broke – ready to move the building materials into/through the house.  I understand there will be an element of noise and disruption – but why 8am on a Saturday and WHY do they have to be shouting to each other while they work?  The noise got Pup upset and then riled so he was hackled up and barking and in short my breakfast relaxation was spoiled.

The materials were stacked on the pavement outside mine and their houses and effectively if we had wanted to go for a walk we were trapped because they had broken glass in front of the houses too.

Next the computer was playing up again so I did the routine I do to clear what space I can and then rebooted.  Next Pup was clearly not amused enough so he made his own amusement.  I do sympathise it was pishing down and blowing  a gale so he was trapped in the boring old house!

I have  a spare kitchen cabinet door – still wrapped tucked away in the kitchen. (spare because I have a half height built in dishwasher so there is no door on that cabinet).  Pup has nibbled the cardboard a few times but that was all.  This morning he ripped a large piece off and brought it into the lounge (fuzzy photo because he is trying to hide the evidence)

That big piece of cardboard is now lots of tiny pieces and at one point Dog had a patchwork cardboard blanket!

Once the way was clear out front I set off with the boys for heir constitutional – Pup was being an idiot form the off which resulted in lots of stopping and starting.  Then we turned down the lane and a collie came up behind us.  Dog started to get anxious and whiney so I sat them up.  Then he started his yipping and carrying on which meant Pup hackled up and wanted to bark.  Dog was such a nuisance tugging to get a glimpse of  a disappearing dog that we kept doing turning drills going backwards and forwards until he calmed down.

Once we got in the woods Pup settled down and was his usual self, very attentive and obedient and free running.  Dog was on a very short lead again to stop him eating the larch cones.  On the way back Pup stayed off lead halfway up the lane and stayed close even managing a little distance at heel without his lead.  As soon as the lead was back on he started pulling; he has to go on the lead for the bit along the busy road since he has no road awareness at all – three times today he lunged to dart onto the road – he only does it when the wind is strong.

I needed to pop into Kirrie for some messages and by the time I got there I felt drained; but I don’t think I was so drained that I couldn’t read the labels.  I picked up a chicken and compared it to a smaller one deciding the one I had picked was best value – when my bill was totalled it was a lot more than I expected – when I looked at the receipt the chicken was twice what I was expecting.  I looked at it again and the price I had been comparing was the price per kg – is it too much to expect them to make the actual price to be paid really the clearest number on there?  I didn’t complain because it was busy and it is not as if the chicken will be wasted – it will make more meals; I just didn’t really want to spend that much on a chicken!

I took my time coming back stopping at the Commonty for a rest.  It was cold sat in the wind but I didn’t want to start myself off wheezing! and my 2kg chicken plus 6 pints of milk and a kg of tatties made for  a heavy load.  Doggy tea out of the way I set off making a lovely macaroni bake with tomatoes and cream and cheese – I was really looking forward to it; when it was ready Pup woke up and started being a pest … I didn’t enjoy my dinner!

What happened to next door’s building materials? they are now in the back garden wrapped in plastic sheeting – the sheeting is rattling around in the wind and it startles Pup everytime he sticks his nose outside for a pee!

And now I need to make an e-card for tomorrow and I am struggling for inspiration … ho hum! do you ever have days where everything leaves you so unamused that it is not funny?  Oh and just before you go I am so not amused by my dry itchy eyes and the itchy insides of my ears … I love my hayfever!

Honeysuckle

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

