Sunbathing!

After I had published the blog post yesterday I had another Blue Skies friend drop me an e-mail which had me rolling on the floor with laughter and feeling warmth again.  I was thinking earlier that maybe I should just define why these Blue Skies friends are so important – it is because these are the people who don’t simply take when the going is good and then make themselves appear busy when times are tough – they are the friends who care enough to make that extra effort when skies are grey.

What does puzzle me though is how they all managed to synchronise themselves to yesterday because none of them know any of the others and some of them had no idea how tough things have been for me the past few weeks … now that is what I find really magical.

Anyway we had more blue skies today and although it was frosty on the ground and stayed frosty in shadow all day in the sunlight it was really pleasant.  Dog and Pup both spent time soaking it up and even I sat down in the sun for a wee while this afternoon.

Moon

February Full Moon

Lunar Halo

Lunar Halo

I had been taking moon pictures last night and wanted to capture this lunar halo – need to keep working on my technique!  These halos are caused by high thin cirrus clouds which are usually a precursor to storms – yet today dawned bright and  blue again.

Plane

Blue enough to show off a white plane and its contrail …

Buzzard

… and a wide blue yonder for this flying machine! Buzzard thermalling

Puppy

“She has that black box thing out again – I might as well lie down we could be here some time!”

I stumbled across some Pup family photos the other day:

 

His Grandsire

Labradors

Grandsire (Back) Dam (front) Dam’s sister (front) Granddam (back)

Pointerdor

… and here is the handsome wee mannie himself!

After the boys had sunbathed for a few hours we did our walk – shortened because my mobile decided to run out of battery instantaneously and I needed to get home and charge it because I am waiting on a call about yesterday’s interview.  I had an e-mail about an interview for a job next week so I made that call and got that confirmed in my diary. Then I popped into Kirrie for some urgent messages.  On the return I stopped at the top of the Commonty and sat on the plinth infront of the benches – the sun wasn’t on the benches!  Just infront of me were the shoots of spring bulbs coming through the grass

Spring Bulbs

However by far the loveliest thing I saw today was a stuffed toy which had been sat up on the low wall.  From the approach above it appeared to be a real cat hunched over something – everyone that passed it turned to check and then smiled.  I am guessing it is a lost toy and a kindly passer by has popped it there in the hope it will be reunited with its person.  By far the nicest interaction with it was from a group of youngsters with disabilities.  They were out with support workers and one woman had pushed a lad in his wheelchair up the brae.  They paused beside the toy and his face lit up and they had a signed conversation about it whilst a wee boy behind was calling out a greeting to me and waving.

The toy that caused folk to pause and smile in their day

It reminded me of bagpuss – a scruffy and dirty toy cat with a mouse dangling from its mouth by a ribbon tail brought love and smiles to the faces of all who passed by.  Blue skies and sunshine and warmth in Kirriemuir again today.

Tags: , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

