Bizarre Blizzard

Kirriemuir Hill

I am still in recovering health mode … you know that bit where after not eating properly for days you cannot decided if you should eat or not, you have forgotten how to be hungry and enjoy food and you get horrid indigestion? … yeah that bit!

So sluggish was a kind way of describing the start to my day … I woke up aching all over and it took me several minutes to sit up never mind disembarking form bed! Pup was not impressed by my slowness.  Dog breakfast done with I made mine; Pup decided he did absolutely urgently need to go out again after all just as I sat down! So my latte was cooling when I picked it up and I looked at the two slices of very expensive ‘soya and linseed’ toast with marmite and felt a bit like “not a good idea” so it sat there going cold.  Eventually I managed most of one slice but the indigestion got worse so I gave up.

I tried to be creative – it allowed me to sit still and not need to think about food and digesting it.  The brief was for ‘brights’ which I struggle with at the best of times and to be honest bright is not my mood at the moment; but others joined in my challenges so I feel I need to be in the other challenges as a participant.  After quite a bit of work I was quite excited with my design apart from a glitchy bit of rendering.

I managed to wash my hair and freshen up the rest of me – fully cold and wet just was not happening!  and having dried my hair off I got ready for the dog walk.  Pretty much uneventful apart from Dog trying to trip me up in the larch spinney while he scavenged larch cones from right in front of me.  I was well pleased with Pup who I had let off lead whilst still on the lane and twice I had to recall him for cars to pass.  I still have to hold his collar since his Stay is not rock solid – but his recall was immediate both times as was the Hup when he arrived.

I had decided that since getting my eating back to normal was eluding me I would use the technique I normally resort to when I have  a migraine and eat plain crisps – yes it involves refined carb but for some reason my tummy can tolerate them and keep going rather than grinding to  a halt and feeling heavy.  So I wandered into town to get some crisps and while I was there got some raw chicken wings for the pooches.

As I set off back the carrier bag started to split so I ended up hugging a rather awkward parcel.  I paused to take pictures of Kirrie Hill and dawdled homewards feeling rather lacklustre.  In fact I was so slow it took me over an hour and I saw two of our buses pass with friendly waving drivers.

Kirriemuir HillKirriemuir CemeteryKirriemuir Cemetery

After I arrived home I put Dog out in the run with his chicken wing and gave Pup his in the yard.  Pup has never had a chicken wing and he chomped tree times and swallowed.  So much for the cartilage being good for the teeth and gums!  There were sixteen wings in the pack so the other 14 have been packed in pairs and popped in the freezer – one a week each gives them a good few weeks of treats.

Then I got  a nice surprise – out of the blue Toxic texted to ask if I needed him to fetch anything for me or do anything.  After the dog’s tea time I put a chicken in the oven to roast – I felt the first stirrings of genuine hunger and actually looked forward to eating.  An hour later I went to pop some potatoes in to find I had not actually tuned the oven on!  So I had to spend another hour getting hungrier.  I did enjoy just some roast chicken and buttered baked potatoes but I do now have that heavy indigestion feeling …

Hopefully tomorrow will be better again – I need to fill in some forms and organise photographs before I go for the interview on Monday and it will be  a non dog walk day – it does them good to have a rest day every so often.  It is a full moon on Monday and after another week without sight of it look who popped her head out of the cloud this evening:

February almost full moon

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

