Challenging Creativity

On the face of it I have not done much today … or rather I have not achieved much and I have not been rushing around.  A few days ago I set another fun weekend challenge on the MyDeco forum; this one is based on a concept building of a modular high rise in 2050 – the building has curvy walls rather than being square boxes and the idea is that each building could include residences, businesses, and leisure spaces.

There were already a couple of garden spaces created but I had an idea that I wanted to create a hydroponic vegetable garden.  I started at breakfast time with an empty floorplan – but kept the window format I had already used.  I put grass on the floor and a soft blue ceiling and I started the search for the elements I would need.  There were over 3,000 items in the “Garden and Outdoor” category; my computer is still struggling to searching and selecting was painfully slow and I didn’t dare leave the category and have to start from the top again!

We can only save designs with a limited number of objects and I soon had about twice as many as that so I could not save and was terrified in case the Pc crashed!  I tried lots of combinations of plants and plant pots but could not get the plants to sit in the pot at the right level.  Eventually I found an underbed storage drawer with timber sides and filled with a green blue something.  I could line plants up in these and have the sit on the surface – exactly what I needed for raised beds.

This finally allowed me to delete alot of the items I had grabbed and get to a saveable point – the relief!  IT took me about 12 hours from start to finish and I have just posted them … here is a preview:

Design by Nonehpets

Balcony greenhouses and raised beds for a hyrdroponic vegetable garden

Design by Nonehpets
A lift provides access from the other floors. Birds and bees are catered for in this environmentally friendly green space.

So I didn’t take the boys for  a walk today – a rest day now and then does no harm – and I didn’t do much housework.  I did take a few moon pictures though and a couple of Dog …

Moon

Moon at Sunset

Moon

Moon after dusk

GSP

Contrail

Sunset Contrail

Tags: , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

