Harum Scarum …

harum-scarum [ˈhɛərəmˈskɛərəm]

adj & adv – in a reckless way or of a reckless nature
n – a person who is impetuous or rash

[perhaps from hare (in obsolete sense: harass) + scare, variant of stare1; compare helter-skelter]

Collins English Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged © HarperCollins Publishers 1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2003

… or in today’s example it was not people being reckless but daft dogs!

Had a slow start to he morning – still feeling a little unfocussed.  Set off in good spirits though with two dogs  and wearing a clean fresh set of clothes.  We did much better on the lead walking for the most part and headed to the beech wood.  We would have done really well except we met another dog on the way which just appeared in front of us with no warning and then disappeared again.  Dog got up on his toes with excitement.  Eventually the dog reappeared with two people – there is a sign saying dogs mus be kept under control at all times on the estate and yet there they were just letting it run up the road well in front of them!

We got down into the clearing by the little burn and Pup was having a good run around and getting filmed.  I popped Dog’s flippy down and he just walked around next to me so I decided to let him have an opportunity to prove to me that he would be good off lead.  I am sure he nodded in acquiescence as I told him he would be in trouble if he ran off.  As soon as the lead was unclipped off he went – straight up the embankment onto the wee lane and out of site.  I blew the recall and gave him time to return.  I called his name.  Nothing.  I collected up our belongings and clipped a by now whining Pup onto a waist lead.  He was whining  because his Dog had disappeared!

We took the direct route up the brae … no sign.  Blew the recall again and I saw the bu99er at the end of the lane by the WWTW (where the gates were open).  He calmly trotted up the bank above the lane and circled to immediately above me pretending he wasn’t listening and considering whether to bypass me and carry on running.  I growled the command to come and he did looking very sheepish!  He had obviously enjoyed the run but that is not the point.

I decided not to punish him further and Pup by cutting the walk short so we walked on down to the WWTW gates and then took the path along the outside perimeter back into the woods.  Pup back off lead and Dog firmly clipped at my waist!  We went as far as we could and turned back at which point Pup decided to do his own harum scarum.

I saw him lining himself up for a leap across the burn but by the time I said no he had gone.  The other side was quite a bit lower so then he decided to jump back and didn’t realise he couldn’t … he jumped straight into a deeper piece of water and quickly retreated to where he came from.  Here he is giving himself a good shake!

So then I had to coax him to follow us upstream to where I could see he could actually just paddle straight across – but he was too impatient and saw a chance to scale the bank with a little collar tug from me.  He was completely unphased and undeterred started looking for another place to jump back across!  I have to get this right now because I don’t want him to be afraid of jumping or water later on but I need him to not do too much right now while his joints are growing – so I have to work on his wait and no commands.

Having returned them to their beds I decided I needed some solitude and so I set off with my camera into Kirrie.  I left so quickly I didn’t even pick up my mobile – which felt weird but then the only people that are using it to call me right now are the bank!

The weather vane ventilators on Wilkies factory

The burn bank near Wilkies

A bit fuzzy – but a photogenic thrush

Who is this?

Not a bunny – it is a brown hare

It is a new day tomorrow – and I will get up focussed and full of enthusiasm – I have deadlines to meet!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

