Mortification … and Snow

Let me start by saying the mortification has nothing to do with the weather!  Yup we have snow again … I got soaked walking into Kirriemuir to draw cash and catch the bus to go food shopping and was really disappointed that the sweetie shop was closed and I couldn’t get any salt liquorice.

I caught the bus before it went round the town (because it was warmer than standing in the square).  I had  a brief exchange with Evelyn who had been into town with her rollator for her messages and sat in the bus as if it was in a snowglobe as the snow blizzarded down the windscreen.  The driver is concerned about Toxic’s behaviour so I made it clear that whilst I know some of what has gone on I have got to the point of talking if he bothers to call and forgetting about him the rest of the time.  I tried to encourage the driver to follow suit and not try to rescue Toxic from himself.  It was an enjoyable journey though.

After my food shopping I caught the bus back with a quick change of driver at the halfway point.  I unpacked the food and then had a quick snack before leaving Dog on his bed and taking Pup off for a bus ride, some town lead walking and a bit of fun.  It has been a few weeks since he was on the bus so again I caught the bus on the way into Kirrie so he had a longer practice.  The driver was curious when he paused at the square to have a wee sip of juice … while Pup hoped for a snack to appear!  This was a driver Pup hadn’t met before and another fan!  It is quite funny because they all tell me about their dogs – breeds names, anything wrong with them, etc.

We got off at the high street in Forfar and since the town service was not due for half an hour we walked down towards the Myre.  On the way Pup pulled and wanted to explore every doorway.  Then he found a Postie to say hello to who asked if he could have a biscuit (treat no 1!) as he popped it into Pup’s happy little mouth.

We got to the Myre which has a large green/football pitch adjacent to a car park and two roads – an excellent place to practice off lead staying close.  Pup was very good and when I got out one of the new tennis balls he was soon zipping off to retrieve it for me in return for a treat.  I zigged and zagged across the green gradually working closer to the smaller road and apart from when he went off to get the ball he was never more than 3 metres away from me.

Here are a couple of pictures of him retrieving – not good because they are blurry with his movement … he even managed a retrieve from water – albeit a deep puddle and not a river or lake!

I got it … here I come … is my treat ready?

Bet you cannot do that with your ears?

I was particularly pleased that Pup made no effort to go off and see those dogs out for their walk although he would have liked to meet a border collie he saw after his lead was on.

We stopped because we had run out of treats so I told him we would go to the pet shop and see if we could get some more.  He was pulling less on the way there and was told as we entered the shop “no sampling and no self service”.  I checked he was allowed in and chose the treats that were the most suitable.  The woman asked if he could have  a biscuit and then laughed and said “he has got a pigs ear”   This is the mortification – I have a shop lifting puppy!  So I had to dip into my treat money that my friend sent me to buy him the veggie pigs ear an told him he would share it with Dog when he got home.

He did not even have the grace to blush and look sheepish!

We walked right along the high street to the bus depot and with a lot of luring Pup managed to walk tolerably well on his lead.  Pup got lots of attention on the bus and went into diva mode to make sure everyone could admire him – but he was very well behaved.  All in all I am well pleased with him.  When we got back he came straight into the house and let Dog out who came rushing to greet me but he was quiet when we arrived so hadn’t been howling while I was out.  After their tea they had half a pigs ear each and now they are well asleep!

I had the briefest of exchanges with Weather Guru – more knowing looks and smiles than a conversation; he looked very weary.  Pup just wanted to go out and when I went with him we have 3-4 cm of snow on the ground … Weather Guru – why did you not warn me?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

