Political Football?

Look at that face … he looks as if he is listening to an intense and absorbing debate don’t you think?  He is wondering where this football is – because a dog his size could trash a football in no time at all and thoroughly enjoy himself doing it!

I have done something today that I would never have expected I would do.  No I didn’t play football – that is a given that I will never do it and I won’t even be watching it.  I have never considered myself a political ‘creature’ and very often I have to keep my personal political views to myself – for example the Community Council is a neutral organisation politically.

What is even more surprising to me is that it was in the context of assistive technology.  Don’t get me wrong I am  quite frequently engaged in discussions about assistive technology that verge on political and I am always prepared to own my opinion or shut my trap.  However, over the past few weeks there has been an emerging story about one of the so called Pathfinder sites in the UK Governments 3 Million Lives (3ML) campaign.   Now on the off chance that you are totally without clue as to what that is about I will summarise; following the world’s largest randomised control trial of telehealth (monitoring vital signs for those with long term conditions such as COPD) the UK Government announced that in partnership with industry it was starting 3ML to campaign to save 3 million more lives in the UK by the use of assistive technology (predominantly telehealth).  To achieve this the Government apparently had no money but industry partners would help with that bit and there were to be two stages – the first that by the end of 2013 100,000 additional people would have telehealth through the creation of 7 pathfinder sites.

Historically where there have been attempts to scale up this technology deployment two or three big companies have won the tenders – with much commentary about the fact they virtually wrote the tenders for the public sector.  These large companies are not necessarily the best at assistive technology, they are rarely innovative and they are not good at interoperability with other peoples AT equipment (think the Microsoft of the AT world)!

So last week I made several comments on the tendering that has just been announced and that appears to be following the same path as the last few high profile tenders where the vast majority of the equipment purchased has not been used and is sitting gathering dust.  The taxpayer is forking out for equipment that benefits noone; this is wrong and it is a gross miscalculation on the part of a public sector who are over reliant on the big industry players.  What is more in this latest case the local authority uses some very derogatory terminology for older people “Affluent Greys” and “Prudent Pensioners”.

The tender document is very reliant on documentation provided by 3ML and today I came across a photograph of the four 3ML staff with the caption “Lovely Ladies”.  Another topic that had been posted for us to read up on was that the Indian Government are planning to develop a special piece of technology to protect people who are the victims of sexual crimes.  There are many gadgets already available which could be put into service today – it seems to me that this delay is similar to the politics on AT here in the UK.  Culturally India values women as chattels passed from father to husband; the Indian Government is elected by those men and so they do not wish to alienate their voters … developing technology will allow them to seem to be concerned about the issue but not actually do anything.  Here in the UK many people never bother to vote in elections because they think that their one little vote won’t make a difference; this is our culture and as a consequence we get the politics we deserve.

I drew a parallel between an all female team in a professional organisation being referred to as Lovely Ladies in this day and age to the cultural values in India towards women and until we all stop playing political football and deliver the same values of courtesy, consideration and care to every human being, whether male or female, old or young, with disabilities or not, with money or not … we are failing at providing supports to allow people to live safe and independent lives.   The women of India don’t need a gadget to protect them – they need a cultural and political environment where they are equal.  The citizens of the UK do not need the same tired old pieces of equipment sitting on shelves gathering dust, they need smaller, simpler, mobile equipment that is easy for them to use.

Sorry Dog no actual football for you to burst …

No walking today after two longish walks the previous days.  I started a fun design challenge online – which is now talking off.  The thread has had more views and response than any of our discussions in a very long time and it is so great to feel the vibrancy and vitality again.

Those are just mine but n a few days I will do a full post with the brief and some of the other contributions.

Apart from that I took some pictures:

Strange cloud formations

The setting Sun’s rays

Copper sunset

Cloud on a wire?

Pup is not an Andrex puppy – he is a Persil Pup!

… Pup tries to hide his embarrassment … cute or just plain cute?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

