Pup becomes a Fashion Designer

I am not big into fashion – I buy clothes I like that are practical and comfortable.  Sometimes if I find something I love I buy two of them … which is how I come to have two orchid mauve hoodies.  Why do I like them so much? well the colour is a good start – it definitely isn’t pink but it is a pretty colour and feminine.  The hoods are not too small or too tight and the big open v neck means the hood is comfortable to have right up or semi cowled.  Some of the seams appear to be inside out for a casual look and they have big kangaroo pouch pockets.  This pocket is accessible from either side, is excellent for shoving cold hands into while waiting for a dog to get on and do what it has to, holds copious quantities of poo bags, tissues, dog training aids, mobile phone, gloves and so on and they can be grabbed with either hand as needed.

I also have two microfleece sweaters with a half zip front (not identical because they are different colours).  So in the coolth we have had recently I have been layering a hoodie on top of a sweater and I am cosy.   With having two of each there is always one set on and the other set in the laundry.  Monday I laundered a set.  Wednesday I put the freshly laundered set on and yesterday the snow receded enough in the dog yard that mud reappeared.  There is  a small wallow that certainly a warthog could enjoy if not quite hippo sized yet.

So there I stand in my orchid mauve hoodie with the hood pulled up and my hands shoved in the pockets to keep warm and get  a poo bag ready for service.  I have my snow spikes still on my clogs so nice and sure footed.  Pup decides perhaps he doesn’t need a poo yet and launches himself at me feet first.  Two brown paw prints on my mauve hoodie … then two more in different positions and a couple more elsewhere.  I now have a unique mauve and brown hoodie covered in mud … and I didn’t even fall over this time to get muddy!

We went for the same walk as we did on Tuesday today, only I took Dog and Pup together.  Pup was a pain on the lead walking bit but a dream in the woods off lead.  Dog excelled at the lead walking and was an ar$e in the woods! He got caught up on branches and wrapped round trees … I look forward to being able to let them both run free together in the right location (which is not next to a muddy field filled with geese!)

We were getting along fine until Dog spotted some people leaving the wood … I think they had been taking photographs … when he started to yip and yodel.  He does regularly do this at other dogs but the only other time he has been like that with people was the day a almost naked drug addict tried to ambush us on our morning walk  – so I do trust his instincts but still it was embarrassing.  Pup decided he was feeling brave so he ran off to see the people who were just bending down to fuss him when I blew his recall whistle.  Without any hesitation he turned round and ran straight back to me and stayed with me – excellent Pup!

… and as I posted the last photo it started snowing again outside … hopefully the forecast is correct and it will just be  a few flurries overnight.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

