Double Acts

Naughty Dogs

I blogged many weeks ago now about Mr Benn (you remember when Weather Guru likened me to the children’s TV character who tried on a  different fancy dress costume everytime he visited the shop and had an adventure) well he was part of a double act because without the shopkeeper to suggest his outfits he would not have had his magical adventures.

I have also mentioned Crystal Tips and she was part of a double act because she had Alistair.  Then there was Dastardly and Mutley now that was a double act – Dick Dastardly came up with all sorts of cunning plans to catch the messenger pigeon and sent Mutley the dog to do the dirty work.  Hold the thought of the dog being sent to do naughty stuff!

Then there are many famous comedy double acts of which my out and out favourite were The Two Ronnies.  Some of their humour was silly humour but for me the best sketches were the ‘clever’ humour ones and the one that sticks in my mind is the shopkeeper sketch in the hardware store.  It was clever because they had to think of things that could have double meanings (if you want to have a look here it is on You T ube ) (and I also like it as an example of how not to deliver customer service) … so now hold on to the idea of a double act delivering funny but clever stuff …

Here are my double act not sure which was playing Dastardly (I think Dog) and I am not sure either were being clever (but they clearly thought so) and yes I did have to laugh at them sitting there like butter wouldn’t melt.  If there were dog speech bubbles they would both be saying “It wasnae me”

I walked in on them in the utility room to find christmas star confetti all over the floor – it was a bag of charity confetti labelled as “magic reindeer dust” or similar.  I don’t begrudge the donation to charity but I remember being disappointed it was stars and not reindeer so I had tucked it away and forgotten about it.

They got shut in the outdoor run while I cleared it up since Pup was desperate to help with dustpan and brush.  Just to note that ion this evening’s poo there were foil stars in only one pooch’s offering!  So it was Pup at a guess who did this and caused the mess.

So I have my very own comedy double act … not sure they will ever be as famous as all those others but I love them just as much.

The melt has continued outside but no flooding as yet and there was still too much slush on the pavements to do a dog walk safely today.  We have had occasional cold showers of rain and strong winds but on the whole not too bad.  Pup has made the change from 4 meals a day to 3 – usually the supper meal is the one removed but I have had to remove the lunchtime meal because when  am back at work it won’t be an option.  I increased his breakfast by half the lunch quantity and split the rest between tea and supper.  The first two days without lunch were not fun but today has been much better.

Apart from that I have been doing my job searching, etc as usual and I took some follow up action on the issue at the social site I mentioned yesterday.  I felt I did not have a choice since it involved a child, who is pretending to other members to be an adult and so when the situation becomes inflamed there is no way to protect the vulnerable child from other members who think they are dealing with an adult peer.  It highlights the risk of our online world and that people who are already vulnerable can become very much more so online since it is easy to make up a persona.  My preference is normally to engage in discussion with the individual and attempt to advocate or influence them making better choices but in this case I felt it was more appropriate to involve a school guidance counsellor and ask them to consider whether the person is making themselves at risk.

This all got me thinking about something else I saw elsewhere today – the question posed was why do I do Random Acts of Kindness (RAKs).  Now first of all I have always done things for other people without being asked … but I had no idea until recently that that activity had a posh name.  In the end I decided not to answer in the forum because there was a risk of sounding mean – in my view a RAK is not something that needs to be published or discussed.  I do things for people because it is the right thing to do, because I enjoy doing things to be kind or helpful and because I can.  I do not do these things to get a pat on the back or be seen as some superhero – so why the need to tell everyone what has been done?  I am not being mean I just do not understand the motivation for telling the world that a kindness has been done.

I hope that in time my actions will be seen by that young person as an act of kindness done out of care and concern for another human being in need.  It depends how it is handled now I suppose and that is nothing to do with me … I did what I hope someone else would do if my child was putting themselves at risk.

In response to my revolting pyjamas it has been suggested that I try wearing a fire engine red flannel onesie with a flap at the back … I am still laughing at this quite scary image … I declined on the basis that having a flap of fabric which one half of my comedy double act would see as being for him to play tug of war with probably wasn’t going to help the situation.  I am pleased to reassure you all though that using the electric blanket to prewarm the covers is working a treat and there is much less twisting and turning to get settled now – plus I don’t have the effect of the electric blanket staying in place and making my skin dry and itchy.  In fact it is so cosy and inviting I shall not be too long heading off there for  a good sleep <yawn>.

Tomorrow I have to prepare for my next Job Centre Appointment on Wednesday – how lucky can a girl get?

Tags: , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

