My Pyjamas are Revolting …

… in a Liberté, egalité, fraternité sort of way … not because they haven’t been laundered!

I cannot be the only person who has this issue? I get into bed in a pair of PJs and everything is straight and where it should be – I wake up with the PJ trousers twisted round my legs and ridden up to the knees and the top twisted round so it is almost facing the back … I mean how?  So I had a brainwave – tuck the PJ’s trousers into my fluffy soft bedsocks – the socks slipped down and got twisted, the PJ’s did their thing and I was in a worse state!  Another brainwave – I replaced the trousers with a pair of footless tights – that stopped that nonsense at least!

Now I just have to solve the top bit but since I wear that top to cover my bum I am not ready to swap it for something snugger fitting and shorter!  One of the reasons I twist and turn so much in bed is that if I get the slightest sensation of a draught creeping under my duvet edge I get agitated.  I have an electric underblanket but find it makes my legs itchy if I use it … last night another brainwave – it is not fastened to my mattress under the sheet – it is laid in between the duvet layers to preheat and then removed at bedtime.  Last night I twisted much less because I quickly got settled with the duvet edges ‘sealed’ against draughts, a warm bed but no itchy legs.

So did I hear you ask about our weather? I did – well there has been NO snow today.  The sun came out this morning in a lovely blue sky and although it became overcast later there was not precipitation falling from above!  It doesn’t mean it was warm though – there was a stiff breeze earlier and now the snow is melting it is slippery.  I have stuck the studs on the bottom of my clogs for dog yard clean up duty.  Pup had a go at doing his own clean up this morning when he stole the dustpan and took it off to play in the snow:

It was his first day without lunch so I decided to take them for a walk around lunchtime to distract him from the fact there was no food – he had extra rations at breakfast too to help him get over the gap.  We were delayed getting out because at 11:27 as I was about to get hair and body washed (while the pooches peacefully dreamed) Pup decided to start ‘naughty hour’.  Having got him resettled and then washed and redressed we set off for what was a really unsatisfactory walk.

The pavement plough had only been partially effective in clearing the heavy snowfall and in some places snow had come off roofs after the plough went past.  When we got to their path the snow drifts were even bigger and it was tough going so we only went a little way.  Having got them home I turned round and set off to walk into Kirriemuir, taking my camera.  I popped down the lane to the WWTW like I did the other week.  They had cleared that on Thursday so it was quite nice walking on the relatively shallow crunchy fresh snow.

People sledging on Kirrie Hill

So the icicles go on and people continue making their journeys, leaving their contrails in my sky …

And even though I am not on the bus everyday like I was at the start of this serenity journey I still see them all the time – look who I met today coming out of Kirrie  (very late I might add) … yes that is temperamental madam Number 99 … she seems to be behaving recently but I am sure it is all a con to lull us into a false sense of security!

So there is my day in pictures – we are due 24 hours of rain tomorrow.  I am off to wrestle with my revolting pyjamas … hope yours are better behaved.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

