Drifting …

… is a dual purpose title.  I feel like I am adrift but also the snow is DRIFTING all over the place.  It has been  a horrid weather day with a strong Easterly wind driving the sleet snow right in the back door every time the dogs pop out to pee.  That makes the quarry tiles slippy so both the dogs have drifted as they cam back in a time or two today!

I was woken early this morning by Dog throwing up some bile complete with bits of leather he had chewed from the rug in the lounge.  He was so unconcerned he hadn’t even stood up in his bed! Pup then thought they should go out so I was in the garden in my pjs and slippers collecting poos.  When I did get them back in Pup did a little retrieving practice with the socks waiting in my boot tops for me to get up for real.  Got them settled and then got another hours sleep so we didn’t go for our usual walk this morning.

I managed to get organised and out for a wee walk into town after lunch which was quite pleasant with the wind at my back – less so on the return!  I got some more heat patches to help my neck/shoulder which was feeling much better after a night of heat therapy.  On my way back I could hear shots nearby so I decided to bring the boys out for a wee dander and let Pup hear the guns and see his response.

Once we got to the path we use I let both their leads go and allowed them to run to the bottom – Pup did a recall halfway and again at the end; Dog did just the one recall at the end.  As soon as Dog heard the shots his head went up and he started scenting; he has never been on a shoot but he has strong instincts.  Pup never gave any sign he had heard it and he certainly wasn’t upset by the bangs.  I need to put out some feelers for other local shoots where I can walk him up to a nearby field and sit him up where he cannot get excited by the dogs, or the people.  Could also do with some cold game for him to see how he responds to that.  I have decided that since I do want to train him as a working gundog I should create a separate blog for his training diary; this means that readers who are not interested in that aspect don’t need to follow his progress – but I will keep you updated on his general stuff and his funnies here as usual

Walk over we settled back indoors for a brief few minutes before Pup decided he wanted to be out in the snow again.  Both of them were chewing ice and carrying around snow.  Then Dog decided to go hide in the dogigloo.  Until today although Pup knew he was in  there and that the flaps moved he hadn’t been inside.  He would stand outside batting the door flaps with his paw aiming at Dog’s nose visible inside.

I lifted the flaps and showed him how easy it was to walk in and after a few moments dropped the flaps so he had to work out how to get them to move so he could come back out.

It was funny to watch and Dog looked none to impressed; however we do have two igloos and the door flaps were never fitted on the together because Otto was a chewer – I’ll find them and sort out the runs so Pup can have his own playden; this is important because if he is happy out there he can stay out in the locked run when I am out if he prefers, which if he is like his Grandsire he will wish to do!

Pup’s other funny today is that he seems to think he is destined to be  a chef – he can already walk anyone through making gravy in my kitchen and today he was mesmerised by me measuring ingredients for banana bread.

He has really been a very good boy today and his only real naughty was when I caught him standing fully on the glass dining table … generally he is allowed to work out his own error and them get rewarded for correcting it but standing on the dining table earned him gently guided removal and a stern silent disapproval – which he hates.

Despite the snow, which seems to be worsening again, the buses have kept going all day albeit around 10 minutes late – so the 22:50 has only just passed on the way to Kirrie.  The road is a priority route and is kept well salted but the gritters and ploughs don’t work overnight so with the extras snowfall there is  a risk that the first buses tomorrow will not be sent out.  We might just get one last pass of the gritter anytime now and then the gritter will be passed around 5 tomorrow morning.

I needed to clear icicles off the dog run roof – the glacier effect leaves the ice hanging 10 cm over the edge with a risk that is it comes down it will take off the gutter so I lifted each section, shook the soft snow down over Pup and tossed the ice chunks away out of pooch reach – they have both been chomping ice today and it must have chilled their tummies!  Before I cleared it I took a few pictures though:

The icicle is fuzzy – but look at that beautiful drop dripping …

I must sort out a couple of community council bits tomorrow and iof course I have my job searches to do so I am going to go find my hot patch and settle for a sleep while the snow continues it’s falling and blizzarding outside.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

