An Odd Gift & Preparing For A Visitation

The Snow is still here … I could see that before I ventured out this morning; the little pavement gritter had been along yesterday and done a fabulous job of clearing the pavements – not a gift exactly but very welcome none the less.

I always pop and unlock the front door, open the top half (it is a stable door) and put the key in the outside BEFORE I release Pup form his crate.  He is so anxious to get out for his first wee we cannot afford to be fumbling with keys and keep him waiting!  I do this every morning … only today I couldn’t open the door.  I pulled a little harder and managed to get the door far enough open to stick my hand through the gap and lift a full carrier bag of groceries which was hanging on he door handle and jammed against the wall.

I did not have time to really look so I put the bag up put of doggy reach and continued as planned by fetching Pup for the walk.  We extended the walk a wee bit since the pavement had been cleared and then I turned them round back to their path and let them run to the bottom like yesterday.  I had a lovely moment then because Dog, who usually never looks at me when  he is off and running turned round and eyeballed me to check what he was supposed to do and satisfied that I hadn’t recalled him he played in the snow.  It is never too late for a dog to learn new skills clearly.

As is usual whilst my breakfast was making I popped out into the dog yard with my camera:

The top branches of my 5 years old rowan sapling

Breakfast over I turned my attention to the gift.  The groceries that had been left were mince pies (1 dozen); pancakes (drop scones); hot cross buns; and some ‘rolling pancakes’.  All things laden with sugar and refined carbs from white flour and heaven knows what sort of additives.  My guess was that they had been left by my neighbour who has just been in hospital after her manic episode.

I put them out of my mind and got on with my usual job search stuff and interspersed my planning for my daughter coming tomorrow for a few days to have ‘Christmas’ with us.  The pooches were very good today and I got lots done with minimal interference.  I still have the spare bed to make up tomorrow and the bathroom, kitchen and floors to finish as well.  Then I have to go sign on and meet CharlieBeth; Dog gets all excited when I mention her name whereas Pup has of course not yet met her.

Then came the knock at the door.  Sure enough the neighbour I expected to see who has now found some olive oil spread which I would maybe like?  She explained that people keep giving her stuff and she hasn’t been able to eat it all.  I explained that I don’t eat spreads – only butter – and mentioned that I don’t eat refined carbs but maybe my daughter would be peckish.  I did thank her but it really isn’t the sort of gifting I intend to encourage, not least because she has been unwell and I have no idea how any of this has been stored. After the visit I looked at the dates on all the baked goods – they were all to be used by yesterday … so will be going in the bin.  Mouldy refined carbs are definitely not something I consume.

I have had a vague migraine for the past two days so I will shut up, leave you with some more icicles and take myself off for a good sleep:

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

