Special Snowflakes!

special snowflake:  A problem person. A person who thinks they are unique, different and therefore more special than everyone else. Derived from too many parents telling their kids they are “special,” like a “snowflake.” Typically used by those in the customer service or retail industry to refer to bad customers.

As we completed our dog walk this morning it started … tiny little bally flakes of cold white stuff and it was dry snow so it started to settle.  There had been a little on the ground when we walked – enough for me to find out my new special snowflake likes to scoop mouthfuls of snow just like my soon to be 9 years old snowflake!  Naturally because it was cold and wet and snowing suddenly Pup and Dog needed to spend lots of time out in the dog yard – the same dog yard which has been getting soggier and boggier by the hour and which is now a veritable mire.

So there was nothing else for it but to take my camera out to capture some short lived special snowflakes to share with you all … these are on my sweatshirt which is a smooth fabric – so that gives you and idea of the power of the super macro on the camera:

This next one was such a beautiful snowflake I couldn’t resist having some fun with the post processing:

They look so different when you see them piled together – still pretty but just imagine how many individual flakes make up this little drift on top of these goose grass berries?

Later on today, I kept wondering my my right sock just was not comfortable – I kept twisting it this way and then that until eventually I took my foot right out of my slipper and looked.  No wonder – there was a thick chunk of mud which had been working its way through the sock … eughhhh.  I changed the sock and then checked my garden clogs – sure enough that one is leaking!

So next time Pup wanted to go out I popped a poo bag over my sock and then put the clog on … it would have been fine except hat Pup wanted to try and beat me to his poo so I did the splits in the mud and ended up stood in my socks in the squelchy oozy mud.  I did get the poo bagged, I did not fall in the mud like before … but I did have a certain deja vu sort of feeling.

Most of the sow has melted … adding to my personal mire and the snow fall has slowed to almost nothing – lets see what tomorrow brings but so far certainly not the heavy snowfall that was forecast by some of the more popular forecasts.  Since Weather Guru stays near the coast he has probably seen even less but he will be looking at his mobile ph0ne forecast wondering what tomorrow is due to hurl at him.

Anyway you have probably seen enough special snowflakes by now, and my two are finally curled up and asleep (although the small snowflake had to be bodily removed to his crate since he was being a tad obnoxious – the way that 14 week old puppies often are at the end of an exciting day) so, reminding you not to hug your special snowflakes too hard just in case they melt,  I will leave you with the following poem which I thought rather nice.

Snow-flakes

BY HENRY WADSWORTH LONGFELLOW

Out of the bosom of the Air,
      Out of the cloud-folds of her garments shaken,
Over the woodlands brown and bare,
      Over the harvest-fields forsaken,
            Silent, and soft, and slow
            Descends the snow.
Even as our cloudy fancies take
      Suddenly shape in some divine expression,
Even as the troubled heart doth make
      In the white countenance confession,
            The troubled sky reveals
            The grief it feels.
This is the poem of the air,
      Slowly in silent syllables recorded;
This is the secret of despair,
      Long in its cloudy bosom hoarded,
            Now whispered and revealed
            To wood and field.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

