Pup Starts Weather Guru Training

I have been creative today … I have done a digital scrapbook layout of my Christmas week moons for a challenge running on Two Peas in a Bucket.  I did find this a challenge too – not because we were limited to one colour but because I couldn’t initially get the right balance on the page.   I eventually got that when I found the round tag that I could journal onto.

In most other respects it has been a fairly standard Saturday; including a quick walk into Kirriemuir for a few messages this afternoon.  I bumped into someone I have not seen in  a while, which was lovely, who whispered at the start of the conversation “I know about what happened and it was a disgrace” – this referred to the church stuff from a few years ago.  I am not sure who she has been told by and I didn’t ask, simply told her it saddened me and we went onto talking about other things.  And I was being honest about being sad – apparently at the Carol Service last month the congregation was just 15 souls.

Anyway I got my messages and wandered back home.  It was absolutely freezing but I will get back to that later on.  I also spent sometime doing some internet research for a friend; they are putting together a small book about their family history and none of them are truly IT fans whereas I love finding out about people in history and could spend hours on it.  IN doing that search I found something I have never seen online before – the equivalent of our local phone book from the late 1800’s onwards … fascinating.

So now to Pup and his adventures:

We have been threatened (or promised depending on your viewpoint) snow – quite  a lot of it coming from the Baltic.  It should have been here this morning as we got up but no sign of it and it was fairly mild.  Mid morning Pup decided he needed to pop outside and before I opened the door I could hear what was happening out there.  I opened the door and he strode boldly out … and got hailed on.

He was very curious about the hail as it fell on things and made noises but seemed totally oblivious to the hail landing on him.  I think it was probably only just frozen and so was not pelting him and since it wasn’t liquid it was not running straight into his furry jacket.  As he ambled back and forth I had to laugh at him – he was a ‘diamond’ encrusted pooch!  I had to dry him off when he came in because otherwise it would have chilled him.

The boys hadn’t long been settled and started to snore again when hail started to fall down the chimney … I have stood a temporary barricade across the fireplace for now since Pup thought it made a good playground.  Dog got very excited and tried to see the hail ad of course couldn’t and that got Pup dancing with excitement too.

As I write we still have no snow but the garden is increasingly waterlogged so I am well on the way to having a personal mud mire I can fall in whenever I like!  I cannot realistically avoid using the garden since Pup is still at that point where he needs to go out so often I couldn’t do it as a walk every time.

It has been really interesting with the temperatures though, it started quite mild and then went icy cold.  The coldness is playing havoc with my hands – and especially my right hand (it gets colder when I am mousing at the computer for some reason).  When I walked in to the town even with my wool ski socks on inside my boots my toes were numb and my fingers (fully covered in gloves) and my nose (not covered) were all tingling from the cold.  It was still freezing cold at teatime when the pooches went out again and yet by suppertime the temperature has shot back up.  People don’t believe me when I say it is too cold to snow – so we will see if we now get the promised snow after the temperature has gone back up.

So Pup is now familiar with hail, fog, snow, rain, wind and sunshine … well on his way to getting his weather guru badge me thinks!

I managed a few photos today – nothing really exciting:  I haven’t seen the racing pigeons for a few days but thought this was an interesting comparison – a wild wood pigeon and two doves sharing a roof:

These reminded me of caterpillar cocoons – but they are in fact old nettle leaves!

 

Signs of Spring in this one – look closely beside the droplet and a fresh green leaf has burst from it’s bud

Hail of course means big beautiful droplets

A diamond encrusted dog needs a bejewelled garden?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

