Pup Goes Snorkelling

I promise you that post title is not a lead on …

I think excitement has upped and left – today was even less thrilling than each of the last two days!  Never mind we have a visitor next week so it will get more exciting and hopefully we will do a bud journey day with both the dogs … but let us stop wishing our lives away and live in the moment.

You know the drill – dog walk, dog breakfast, my breakfast, dog nap, dog lunch, my lunch, dog nap (had to be crated today!) and so on intermingled with lots of job searching.  I have had a few rejections this week but I have more application in the pipeline so I will just keep on going.  I had another chat with the Enterprise Allowance people who are narrowing down my prospective mentors …

I also wanted to find out how to use HDR processing in the GIMP on my photographs.  I have to start by saying I am not a huge fan of the garish HDR developed photographs often seen but I wanted to be able to understand the process so I could apply a small touch when appropriate.  I eventually had to settle for a script that fakes it but it is helping me t follow the process at least and I have found a couple of photos where  like the effect – especially the drips that I have been photographing-  it gives them an extra clarity and shine.

And here I used it to warm up the sunrise:

It will not make a bad photograph good but it extends my skills which is one of the things I said I wanted to do at the start of the year.  The moon is temporarily indisposed (being a new moon) so I haven’t been able to keep up with her but I have used Macro most day and I have worked at those drops.  Now I need to go out with the tripod and my camera and get a set of bracketed exposures to have a go at making an HDR painstakingly by hand in the GIMP.

I have not put many dog pictures in this week so here are a couple so you can compare Pup’s growth to Dog:

A little tricky to see but Pup is stood right behind Dog s they are almost the same length – Pup is growing long and tall (which is better than fat!)

I said I would show you where the hedge has been grubbed out and the fence put in against the lane I used yesterday; this first one is the shot across the field where they are making preparation to put the first industrial unit:

And in this one you can see the fence going away down the lane – that used to be mature hedge and trees!

Okay enough procrastinating – you really want to know about Pup’s new found skill don’t you?  No I haven’t had him at the beach and I haven’t sent him swimming in a nearby lake – Pup went snorkelling in his water bowl!  He trotted off with a piece of cardboard in his mouth and got to the water bowl, hesitated and then deliberately dropped the card in the water.  Had his drink and I expected him to walk away and leave me to clear up his papiere mache … not a bit of it!  I had laughed and said I didn’t thin he would win Brain of Britain now when he stuck his nose into the water and snorkelled until he got the card – I heard the bubbles!

So not only is the wee mannie a natural retriever he is not going to be a wuss about water retrieves – he just keeps on getting better and better.  I will have to get myself shaped up so I don’t let him down – I seem to have me a good gundog and so I will do the training with him even if he never uses it to work.  I need to sit down and work out a training plan for him … better find my gundog training book.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

