Epiphany

What does it mean? (from Wikipedia)

An epiphany (from the ancient Greek ἐπιφάνεια, epiphaneia, “manifestation, striking appearance”) is an experience of sudden and striking realization. Generally the term is used to describe breakthrough scientific, religious or philosophical discoveries, but it can apply in any situation in which an enlightening realization allows a problem or situation to be understood from a new and deeper perspective. Epiphanies are studied by psychologists and other scholars, particularly those attempting to study the process of innovation.

Epiphanies are relatively rare occurrences and generally following a process of significant thought about a problem. Often they are triggered by a new and key piece of information, but importantly, a depth of prior knowledge is required to allow the leap of understanding.

Of course for many tomorrow is the Feast of the Epiphany when the wise men delivered their gifts to a new born infant; however the title has a double meaning since it also refers to a realisation completed.  It is not  a new realisation but one which has been swirling around in the background until Thursday.  That day I saw something; I said nothing and I expected the person involved to lie again … but today they phoned and with very little prompting told me that I had indeed seen what I had interpreted.

Knowing something is so does not necessarily solve a problem or make it all better but it was an opportunity for me to correct some very flawed thinking on that person’s part.

It has left me feeling sad this evening but as I say tomorrow is the feast of the Epiphany and the end of Christmas so I shall start afresh tomorrow.

I popped into Kirriemuir this afternoon; I won a couple of pound on a lottery ticket during the week – so that bought me some more chances is for this week and left me with £4 spare and JSA due to arrive on Monday.  I decided I would try and get a small chicken to roast and a large potato.  However I looked at the veggies and I am missing them so much I decided to spend a little more since I still had a few pound in the bank and bought carrots, parsnip, sprouts and sweet potatoes too and because the chicken was on the reduced counter it was quite a decent sized one.

Since I hadn’t spent the cash on the way past the famous sweetie shop in Kirriemuir I popped in to see if they had salt liquorice … they did so I have a little treat this week as well.

I took my camera out with me and took some pictures at the Commonty – scottish language lesson coming up:

Com´mon`ty

n. 1. (Scots Law) A common; a piece of land in which two or more persons have a common right.
Webster’s Revised Unabridged Dictionary, published 1913 by C. & G. Merriam Co.

Commonalty, Commonty the community; the common people; the corporate body of a town or city.

Dictionary of Collective Nouns and Group Terms. Copyright 2008 The Gale Group, Inc. All rights reserved.
I have not processed all of the pictures but I have done a few of the lichens on the beech trunks and the lovely weather vanes on the factory roofs.  I will leave you the pictures to look at and tomorrow I will finish the edits and tell you something about the building that these weather vanes are on.  I am full of roast chicken dinner and empty of emotion so I am going off to ruminate a wee while before sleep … restorative sleep.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

