2013 Here I Come

Hello to you all now we are in 2013 – I thought I would start by mirroring where I left off in 2012 so here is the first moon picture of New Year’s Day, the sunrise and then the first sun rays breaking out on a clear, chilly morning.  That is right – no rain today!!

I said that today I would tell you what I was hoping for and working towards this year.

  • There is a trend called “One Little Word” which I have been hearing a lot about the past week – who knew? I am trendy and have been doing “OLW” since September – SERENITY.  I plan to continue with that as my OLW and I intend to keep working at building that in my life since I do truly believe it strengthens me to deal with other stuff. I have added a board on my Pinterest account to capture this and add to the motivation;
  • I do need an income and I really need to improve that situation fast – managing on JSA is testing my serenity constantly; not resolving it threatens the roof over my head and promises enduring debt which I have been fighting to get away from for 12 years …
  • I am missing the physical exercise of my travels and later this week once Pup is able to properly go out and about I need to start walking and building that up over the Spring.  I won’t be walking the distances I was doing a couple of months ago until at least the Autumn – Pup will not be able to manage that for sometime.
  • I am struggling with not being able to eat as healthily as I want to and was doing; refined carbs are cheaper than the healthy options.  However I have not reverted to eating sugary junk like biscuits, crisps and cakes so all is not completely lost.
  • I am struggling with a PC that is constipated and limited options to free up space – it was a stop gap three years ago and I am heading to needing to replace it but it will have to wait – I must remain calm and not let my frustration at the slowness derail me.
  • My camera is a good one – but I am increasingly challenging its limitations; until I can afford a different one I will work at improving my abilities with the technology I have.  So I will try different things and test out my skill and then learn how to do better
  • I will be keeping on writing this blog every day – it was hard to get into a routine and the past month it has been harder to keep going since I wasn’t doing much to tell you about.  But when I looked at the photographs last night as I composed the 2012 gallery they brought back so many memories of places, people, conversations, the weather – both positive and negative.

There were so many memories that it should be hard to single out one – but it isn’t – a pivotal moment for me was the day I fell in the mud in the cow field.  Getting muddy like that released all inhibitions and allowed me to really challenge myself over and over without worrying what other’s think.  Of course climbing steep paths, walking cliff paths and finding that my vertigo has ceased are all key moments too – but I set out to make myself do the walking at height and I succeeded; the fall was serendipity – I did not plan it.

Equally in those memories are the people and it is harder to single out one individual but if I did I think it has to be Weather Guru; simply because without him I would not have contemplated all of this in the first place.  I owe him a great deal.

To demonstrate my intention to do new things with my camera here are a couple of pictures from today.  The first was using the sun as a backlight to the rambling weed which you likely know as Goose Grass (around here you may recall me telling you they are known as Sticky Willies).  I used the same techniques as I have been using for my moon photography and it has created that lovely warmth.

And then using the same settings again I took pictures of my neighbours racing pigeons flying around.  Pup is fascinated with them and I was watching him watching them which made me think I should try the pictures.  These are a moving target, not easy to focus on an individual and they come from a random direction each time:

And then I tested my digital processing skills with a mono print .  Not the ideal picture to do this with since the sky is heavily saturated but very flat but I quite like it.  The reason I thought of doing this is because the sport of pigeon racing was very popular in some of England’s northern mill towns as a hobby for working men and that seemed to fit a black and white image.

So that is a little introduction to my 2013 – I would love to know what you all plan – leave a comment or add a link to your blog if you have one.  Sometimes telling others our plans helps us to get the support and encouragement we might need along the way.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

