Dog Takes Control

It is happening – Dog has started to work out when it is okay with me for him to discipline Pup … he no longer looks at me first to check.  Just to be clear when we talk about discipline dogs don’t spank each other … a quick, short sharp nip or a brief firm hold round the muzzle or  a is how a dog lets a puppy know it has gone too far.

Why is this exciting? quite simply because Dog never learned to do this with Otto and Otto became a bully where Dog was concerned.  It ended up making Dog very unhappy and even withdrawn, certainly wary.  It has been just over three years since Dog shared his home with Otto.  In that time he has regularly been with me to dog sit my parents pack; each time we visited I would just walk him into the dog yard and there were very few words exchanged between him and their pack alpha dog.  Although I wasn’t their pack’s alpha person when my Dada was around – if he was away they immediately accepted me as the alpha.  So having two entire males and several bitches running  together was not a problem whilst ever I was there with them.

My parents have entire dogs/bitches because they have been until recently occasional breeders – Pup’s litter was their last.  Dog is entire since I see no reason to interferes with nature if it isn’t necessary; he is not left to run with bitches and has never tried to leave his garden so there is minimal risk of unwanted pups.  As Pup grows I might have to revisit that position and have Pup neutered – but it will not be until he is at least 2 since GSP’s keep growing until they are around 3 years old and castration can stop their growth and risk them being deformed.  If one of them becomes the natural top dog it will never be an issue providing I am the most dominant and they both take notice of me.

That is all for the future but to see that Dog has worked out that he can stop Pup’s mischief if it is unwelcome is encouraging.  Pups normally get away with it up to around 16 weeks but Pup was using some very antisocial behaviours to get his own way and poor Dog had Pup jumping on him, humping him and biting his ears and lips.  Now he gets  warning growl and if it doesn’t stop he gets a nip – which has instant results – he backs off and you can see him thinking about what happened.  Consequently the humping has almost stopped altogether.

It will be interesting to see how this translates tomorrow when Pup goes for a playdate with Ollie – I am really looking forward to seeing if they mind (Scots for remember) each other.

I had a yearning to fly the kite today … there is very little chance of  flying it locally so I will have to wait until Pup is allowed to the beach … don’t let on but perhaps I can persuade my daughter to come and we can all go fly the kites and walk on the beach …

After the cloud stopped play yesterday I was back on Moon watch this evening and it was only the cold that drove me back indoors … when you cannot feel your fingers it is no good trying to take photographs!  Enjoy these pretty pictures and pop back tomorrow to find out about the puppy playdate?

Doos (pigeons) at sunset

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

