Memory Lane – or a Visit to My Remote Hard Drive

Whilst thinking about memory I forgot to tell you an amusing little anecdote yesterday … you will recall how excited I was to see the Anstruther Lifeboat Launch a few months ago? so I saw an item in the online local paper about it being launched recently and was curious about the rescue, only to find when I read on that they had in fact rescued the civic Christmas Tree which had toppled into the sea.

So today has been lazy and slow – Pup has got over the excitement of his red tissue paper parcel and things have been much quieter.  The weather has been quiet too.  I was reading some blogs and then looking at photographs on deviantArt and several of them drew a response from me that I would look for some pictures of my daughter as a child – most of which are still on negative and scan them to respond to the item I had seen.

I have a remote hard drive and most of my photographs are stored on there once they are e-versions.  Due to the limitations of my PC I am not able to keep them on the PC too and I really need to get another medium for a second store  – but I am also loading some to cloud based storage on some of the sites I use regularly.  So I set off to look for something and as often happens found myself wandering around in my photo store reliving fond memories – so I thought I would share some with you all.

First up – when Dog met the last Pup (Otto) who you can see has attitude even at the same age that Pup is now.

This next one is a scrapbook layout of Dog’s first holiday … when the weather was much the same as it has been the past week – in other words it rained!

I will make a separate scrap layout set for Otto – I never have because the memories have been too painful but now with Pup’s arrival and accommodation by Dog I think I am ready to move on and celebrate the good things about Otto’s short time with us.  However here are  a couple of playmates who Dog did get on with … first Sparky, a semi feral cat who my parents adopted (along with litter mates Breezer and Chiccy) and who Dog used to roll around on the floor with batting noses and getting spiked for his efforts:

We would have loved to have Sparky move in with us but we lived too close to a major road and it just wasn’t fair to him when he was used to roaming.  And this on is special because the playmate here is the grandsire of Pup.  Dog was only a few months older but much the bigger boy in this tug of war and they had a great time.

This next dog is not mine … we looked after her for a few days when her family’s baby arrived.  Named Holly appropriately enough since you can see from the tinsel we had her over the Christmas holidays; she was a restless nutter and Dog was extremely grateful to see her return home; she arrived for her stay on the day I got my last job three years ago.

With that link to Christmas if we did have the tree up this year it would be looking something like this (it is a black tree and I like to decorate with white, silver and touches of icy blue and purple).  I do really love to have a real tree but have learned that with pooches it just is not worth it and then I have to dispose of the thing and I don’t drive!

And then I found this series of pictures taken from the Law in Dundee.  A Law in Scotland means a Hill and this one is an extinct volcano.  People often refer to it erroneously as the Law Hill!  So I had taken a walk up the Law to take pictures of a panorama of the Tay.  This one is the Rail Bridge to the West and the next one is the road bridge to the East … what  a fabulous shadow that throws.

Looking beyond the far end of the road bridge one can see St Andrews and then the Fife coast stretching eastwards to the East Neuk costal area where I spent time in late summer.  Just this side of the bridge the tall building is Tayside house which is currently being demolished by robots.

This last photograph is important for two reasons – if you look into the distance (left hand side) you can see Buddon Ness, the section of coast I have yet to walk because of the firing range restrictions and in front of that is the promontory where Broughty Ferry castle stands.  The Rock Gardens and Monifieth are situated between those two landmarks.  You can also see the docks in which the rig Rowan Norway is in berth.  In the foreground are four large multis – buildings which were such a big part of social housing for Dundee’s tenants … but if you went up the Law today you would find them missing from the view – they were demolished this year.

So that really brings me full circle to when I started the blog with my day’s out … except I shall have to walk back up the Law in the Spring to get updated images of where the Multis were and where Tayside House is disappearing.

Hopefully my meander down Memory Lane has taken your mind away from the clearing up after a busy festive day yesterday and you will want to come along on the journey when I revisit the Law.  Since this linked to some of my Social Media sites perhaps tomorrow I will take a look at how Social Networking works and how it might help a business.  Just now I need to go back to looking for pictures of a little girl’s Christmas many years ago …

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

