All Change …

… it hasn’t rained at all … but having started cloudy it cleared up and we had freezing fog.  The temperature has noticeably dropped … brrrr … and tonight the sky is completely clear and starlit.

The other very noticeable change is there have been no buses all day … the drivers do get a day off for Christmas and another for New Year (and most of the rest of the holiday period it is either a Saturday, Sunday or a limited service) … but it is noticeable to me because I am tuned into hearing the engines those that whisper past and those that squeal which means I can not only tell the buses from other traffic, I can sometimes tell which member of the fleet it is and even sometimes which driver it is by the engine noise!  I miss them when they aren’t there.

So how did our Christmas Day go? well it was Pup’s first and he doesn’t really get the wrapping up bit which was funny.  Normally I like to get the dogs a whole stocking worth of gifts but today they just got a small toy each.  I wrapped them in red tissue paper and used the minimum piece of tape to hold it closed.  Dog knows exactly what to do and had the paper off in two seconds flat.  Pup proudly ran around with his ‘red toy’ until Dog managed to get hold of it and remover the paper.  Both toys have had good exercise and both are minus stuffing and a squeaker – but never mind they were enjoyed.   I had a gift card – what to buy? and a gift to unwrap … product one of my favourite ranges but products I haven’t tried before – how exciting!

Breakfast and present excitement over with we settled down to a quiet relaxing morning.  Well at least after I had got Pup down off he back of the sofa where he had clambered up – he has shoulders like a navvy and he is an expert climber!  I know it is not good for their joints but keeping him fully on the floor is difficult.

Preparing my roast chicken lunch became an activity for Pup in particular – he tried carrot trimmings and a little sweetcorn; he desperately tried to get up to help with gravy making.  Then when I was dishing up I managed to knock a roast potato to the floor; he made a snatch and then shook his head since it was obviously too hot for him.  I managed to get it off the floor before he made a second attempt.

We had a little jaunt out mid afternoon but we did not get to our destination – we turned back because it was very cold and Pup was getting so excited he was going to trip one of us up.  I was going to take him to meet Evelyn … perhaps I can take him on Friday on the bus – it isn’t very far but if I take him on the bus he cannot get so overwhelmed.  I will have to pop up and see Evelyn on my own tomorrow to deliver her card – I expect she will be off out in the morning since she hates to stay home – but with no buses she won’t have had a choice today.

As we got back home the moon was just appearing from behind a veil of cloud – so I took some pictures and then some more later

… of course the Moon seems to be changing all the time too and on Friday it should be a full Moon so if I am in luck with the cloud I may get to take consecutive full moon pictures from November and December 2012.

The moon has made me feel quite serene and I have listened to loads of carols – I love the music and words  – and I have exchanged texts, messages or phone calls with my favourite people – even Toxic sent a text wishing me a Merry Christmas from “my PITA” LOL –  so that ups the serenity too.  Oh and I laughed at Pup … just in case anyone is aggrieved about anything to do with their Christmas gifts Pup has an unusual solution … hump whomever has offended!  Dog dared to borrow Pup’s gift for a little bit of a cuddle and got rather more than he bargained for! and no I am not posting pictures.

I hope you have all had the Christmas you hoped for and shared it with the people, pets or places that are important in your life.  Merry Christmas to you all.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

