Was I Afraid?

It has rained … and rained … and rained … I really should have hauled out the Ark but I opted for the bus instead.

It was really tight getting ready this morning and leaving Pup in his crate when he is used to being allowed to play for a while.  But I got out of the door and dashed into Kirriemuir to the cash machine and then on a very empty bus.  My mind was on the meeting at the bank rather than the bus journey and the windows were all condensed up so I didn’t see much scenery – and anyway it was raining … did I mention already?

I did move to my usual front seat in Forfar which at least meant I could see a little ahead.  On the way out of Forfar the gravel path up to Balmashanner had been washed down onto the road so there was a path width ramp about three inches deep right across the road and then at the junction on to the A90 the skip road was just a pool of water.

On the way to the bank I bumped into an ex-colleague which was nice and she was going to pass on my seasonal wishes to the team at their lunch today – I had been invited but had declined because it didn’t fit the timing of Pup’s mealtimes.  Once in the Bank I got lucky because there was a till just dealing with cheques and he asked if I had cheques to pay in and I said no but I needed to see someone about my account so he helped me.  He came back a wee while later and said they had moved the money from account B to account A – not what I had requested; I checked my account at the cash machine and sure enough it was the wrong direction of transfer.  He went away again and then the Manager came out and after some discussion and looking at the accounts on the screen he sorted it out.  They were both extremely pleasant and helpful but I am disappointed that my original complaint has still not been acknowledged let alone addressed; the Manager asked me to call the team who had messed up in the first place today and I have declined until my complaint is addressed.

So finally after 16 days of no access to money I have access to all the benefit I have received and can do some shopping.  I popped into the supermarket in the City for a couple of odds and ends and while I was going through the till the teller asked me something which I wasn’t really following so I mumbled “oh yes” and he got all animated and said “so are you really afraid?” I looked at him and he said “you know about the world ending” … I don’t really like small talk in a  customer service setting and this year have found the “so are you ready for Christmas then” quite distressing but being asked if I am afraid the world will end was I thought a tad OTT for the supermarket mid morning?

I returned home for Pup’s lunch and an hour later set off again to do shopping while I still had a bus ticket I could use.  The bus was well late when it got to me and I had decided not to try and rush for the bus that returned in less than an hour and to take my time.  I popped into a pet store and into the supermarket I do not usually frequent … my usual supermarket has just stopped selling the range of dog food I want to use!  I bought Pup a bigger bowl since the one he was using was very small and he was just pushing everything out and I bought him a kevlar dog toy …

Dog toy

… okay well it isn’t actually kevlar but it is a special nylon which is hard to damage.  It is a small green and orange duck with a squeak in the middle and it had an orange knotted ragger tail.

I trundled on to the usual supermarket and took my time sauntering round trying to find the things they have moved for the Christmas stock.  I have bought a big pack of loo roll – will just have to find a storage space for them; my Andrex puppy Pup thinks even wrapped loo rolls are for his amusement.  I also bought  an industrial size of extra big sheeted kitchen roll for puppy mopping up and a mop bucket!

I dawdled through the checkout and packed everything carefully and made my way to the bus stop (obviously I paid and all that) only to find that the previous bus (the one I wasn’t rushing for) still hadn’t turned up 45 minutes after it was due.  It eventually arrived around 55 minutes late and my heart sank when I saw it was the very new driver that was driving on Wednesday … he does not decelerate before braking and he nearly broke my arm when he stopped suddenly on Wednesday; today he threw me against the stair bulkhead when he stopped suddenly … grrrr.

I got home and let Pup out … he was so excited to see me – he jumps up and down making happy little grunting noises when I let him out of his crate.  After a visit outside for a pee I gave him his kevlar duck and he ran round squeaking it over and over.  He was so entranced I was able to unpack three bags of shopping without help and hide the mop bucket before he saw it!  Of course I was supervised in this activity … by Dog!

Kevlar Duck now doesn’t have a tail – Dog pulled it off – but the fabric has not been damaged yet with the two of them playing with it and a fair bit of tug going on between them.  Pooch playtime meant I had time to wrap a little something for the depot drivers and make them a card so tomorrow I will have to catch one of them to deliver the gift to the Driver’s room.

I had a brief encounter with Toxic today who has been silent since Saturday … he chatted away as if nothing has happened … he is good at pretending nothing has happened which is why he never learns from experiences … sigh!

To say I have done comparatively little I am shattered – I guess the relief of sorting out the money; combined with the fresh air; and being able to do some shopping and then haul heavyish bags have all contributed to my yawning.  Even thought it was raining I did enjoy being outside and it made me think of those walks on the beach in the rain.  Before too long, when Pup has had his second jag and I have got my shewee, perhaps I will be able to make  a beach excursion with both my boys on a bus … won’t that be fun for the other passengers?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

