Things to Avoid In Front of a 9 Week Old …

… step out of bath and attempt to dry oneself – tug of war with a bath sheet and a naked wet person is hilarious – for the 9 week old … not so much for the wet naked person …

Use dustpan and brush … these are portable by a 9 week old for whom EVERYTHING is a toy and everyone is a climbing frame!

Pull loo roll to blow nose and mop up puppy pee (two pieces that is!) … well 9 week old is obviously aware of his Andrex ancestry and can reach loo roll holder!  He also has a memory like an elephant so there is no hope of untraining him already!

Place any item in the bin – you obviously are insane and the item will now need to be rescued by the 9 week old – because even rubbish is a toy …

Leave any fabric item within reach … he has heard telepathetically from his siblings that a tea towel can be knotted into an excellent ragger – well hell we can manage without the knot!

Try explaining that boiling water on food takes time to chill … the 9 year old insists on telling the 9 week old that it is a lie .

Pup decided that whereas he didn’t like the squelchy ground yesterday (mud between the toes!) he does rather like frost frozen ground an staying out to play for ages.  He also taunted Dog into playing yesterday to take the toy from him.  Of course being  a puppy toy Dog crunched it up in no time so it got removed.

However it has a positive outcome on their relationship because Dog knows exactly how far he should and can go with the annoying little furball!  Watching a 9 year old Dog who has never understood doggy body language or how to play has been really lovely although if he could speak the think bubbles would be something like “this beep beep Pup is following me everywhere, I get no time to myself …” and here they are outside late this afternoon and inseparable!

Dog sniffs so I sniffs

Dog sniffs so I sniffs

I is hidden behind these undergowths?

I is hidden behind these undergowths?

Why has Dog gone into that igloo?

Why has Dog gone into that igloo?

In non doggy stuff I had a very welcome reminder of the beautiful island I visited in 2008 – Rona.  I got the Christmas greetings e-mail with a link to their blog (which has been added straight to my follow list along one form a neighbour on Raasay) so I will have  a lovely time over the next few days catching up with that and looking at the wonderful photographs.  I have included some of my Rona photographs I think in earlier blog posts but here are a couple of my favourites:

The North End of Dry Harbour looking towards Skye

Typical Rona Geology

The Old Man of Storr (on Skye)

The road to Big Harbour and across the sea towards Portree

What a sunset!

A garden in miniature? Lichens on top of a fence post

This is not a macro shot – this female dragon fly was huge

Tags: , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

2 responses to “Things to Avoid In Front of a 9 Week Old …”

  1. windhound says :

    Love all the puppy advice – so true. The Skye photos are fantastic. One of my favourite islands. Thanks for these.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The World is a Pup Chew Toy? « Travels with a Megarider … - December 14, 2012

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

