Birds Nest Soup Anyone?

Nest

Well it isn’t the sort of nest that one can make soup with but the state of it does rather reflect how battered I am feeling today.

Toxic did not phone on Friday as he said (I can hear all my female readers snort with disdain that I should believe what he says!) and he has been unavailable then for 3 days but I understand he did overtime last night … yet he didn’t call then either.

This morning I get a text asking what the weather is like … so I read it and thought (a) the same as where you are and (b) since you were up here last night you damn well know.  I ignored the text.

Whilst I was on a bus going to sign on Toxic phoned and my mobile crashed.  It keeps crashing and I think it is because it is cold.  After rebooting  it three times another call which I silenced.  In response to which I received the text “checkin your not dead” … grammar and punctuation aside … “charming!”

Then apparently he hooted at me!

Eventually he phoned and tore me off strips for ignoring him … as I said “charming .. and so supportive!!!”  My instructions are that in future if he cannot ring me I am to e-mail him so he knows I am alive.

Then  there was the Job Centre (sigh) I was in plenty of time; the adviser was running late. There was a discussion about their new and still useless job match system – and since I have declined to give them access to my account on there until I am confident the system is actually working (I cannot log in more days than I can) I was told in a rather threatening tone that I would have to keep filling in my diary.   Since he hadn’t even looked at the one I handed in I had to point out that I had filled all 45 spaces and could I have another.  I showed him my spreadsheet (on my mobile) and confirmed I have applied for 13 jobs; not applied for 8 that needed a driving licence and have a further 8 applications in progress.  I confirmed yes I had spent between 21 and 35 hours looking for work … this was only my first routine appointment and already it feels like a battleground!

There were other issues along the way to niggle away at my serenity … but here I am (still alive Toxic – wink) and I have survived another day.  Unlike the bird’s nest I started with which seems to have been blown out of a tree in the high cold northerly winds we are currently enjoying.

Now while I have  a few minutes to myself I am going to make a little igloo for Pup … he will be coming home tomorrow (he is sharing most of the journey with his wee brother Ollie who is going to live in Dundee); so it will be an early start and  along day filled with fun and games (and then when he is fast asleep my job seeking).

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

