Visualisation …

I do use visualisation quite a bit as a tool in goal setting, but  not everyone can visualise and some people find pictures more thought provoking than lots of words.  For example I was going to write about something different today … I was going to blog about being cosy in cold weather … I even had a title in my head: “The Duvet Innuit” … that creates a vision doesn’t it? A mounded up duvet resembling an igloo?

Igloo bedroom

Let’s not go there – let us talk about how we see things?  Visualisation is a business tool that translates a body of text into an image.  I am going to focus on “tag clouds” or “word clouds” in this post but you can also create maps and graphics if you find the right piece of software.

If you look at the home of the blog and scroll down you can see a simple tag cloud of the “Tags” I use to organise the content but one can get much more fancy and meaningful results with other software.  As an illustration I have pointed Tagxedo Creator at this blog; I like Tagxedo because it has shaped cloud templates to use.  Since my blog is titled for my serenity bus journeys I picked the bus shape for my cloud and this is a cloud based on the text of the blog rather than just the tags.  I completed the feel by using colour tones similar to the Stagecoach livery.  The bigger the word in the image the more times I have used it.  Note that some of the words are not mine – some of them are infrastructure on the page eg Linkedin! – I could refine it and remove those.

Word cloud

Just to show the power of the visualisation I have then changed the shape  to the internationally recognisable symbol for balance Yin Yang.  So if someone looking at it does’t see how a bus and serenity are connected they could see that the blog is about finding balance in life?

Word Cloud

Go have a play yourself – it is great fun and a good tool for expressing yourself and your ideas.  You don’t have to own the website if you want to do one based on that – here is one I made a while ago based on one of my favourite professional update sites – Telecare AwareWord cloud

Another tool I like to use, both professionally and personally is MindMapping.  I do break the rules when I am mapping – I use more words than I should but it works for me.  It can be a simple or headline project plan, it can be a goal setting tool, or a note taking mechanism.  This is an example that I made several years ago when working on a logo design – I have blanked a couple of the boxes as a professional courtesy and you don’t really need to understand all the detail this is an illustration only of how connected ideas can be represented (note the use of colour and icons to help make the messages easier to follow).

Mindmap

Which brings me to my last tool – not everyone sees things exactly the same way.  For example some members of any human population will have sight affected by ‘colour blindness’.  This is not a one size fits all condition and in fact has several variants.  So how do we know that the colours we use will be received in the way we intend them?  We can access resources online that help and you will find some here on my Pinterest Boards but let me show you some screen shots from Colour Scheme Designer 3.  I have set the colourwheel to the triad shown in the middle (red, Green and a Teal Blue); top right is how I (and most people see it) and the other four are as they appear to some of a variety of different colour blindness conditions.

Colour swatches

I am sure from that example you can start to see how important colour is to attracting readers online.  As well as my own resources linked above I came across this blog earlier today … Lorelle Teaches … I shall certainly be going back regularly to read an learn (well after some job hunting and Pup preparations at least – maybe Pup would like a little puppy igloo?)

Tags: , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

One response to “Visualisation …”

  1. windhound says :

    These are magical.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

