It Snew … or should that be Snowed? (too much Winnie the Pooh me thinks)

RowanI knew we had snow when I ran to the bathroom in the early hours … it was not as cold!  I know that still surprises some but it has been too cold to snow the past week and the wind was from the wrong direction.  Part of the reason it has been so cold has been the clear sky day and night; it makes for pretty starry skies and moon photographs but without that duvet of clouds we shiver!  I didn’t say anything as I returned to a cosy bed – Dog LOVES the snow and would have wanted to go out to play there and then! (Apparently Pup is not impressed with the cold white stuff … ).

I got an update via SMS from my neighbour who is catching the 22 this week … Early Bird was being his usual charming self (ie rude to passengers) and had the bus icy cold to prevent the windows misting up … what  a shame he doesn’t have a co-operative passenger to help him with wiping the windies!  I dozed a little more before getting up to see how bad the snow was.

The road outside is a priority route due to the buses so I had heard the plough go past and back around 05:30 as the amber lights illuminated the room and the road was semi clear.  The snow has lingered all day but by 5pm the road is fully clear and we certainly don’t have the quantity of the stuff we had 2 years ago, which caught everybody out and left us busless for a least 3 days.  This is one of my pictures from then where you can see the local youngsters sledging on Kirrie Hill and both the trees in the cemetery (site of author J M Barrie’s grave) and the sheep are bathed in a pink winter sunset … very pretty.

Kirrie Hill

The picture at the start is of the rowan tree opposite the house for which this cottage is named.  I understand that alternating rowans and laburnums were planted along the roadside form Kirriemuir towards Forfar as a commemoration; sadly most are no longer there and this rowan is struggling to survive.  I have, however immortalised it as my logo on my art work at deviantArt.

One last snowy picture … this is the dog I no longer have (he had issues which led him to a sad end!) Otto – he wasn’t so keen on the snow as Dog is so he is probably trying to work out how to escape without me noticing … ahem Otto I am standing here taking pictures!  Although he had issues which caused him to be aggressive with others he was an absolute sweetie with me … but then when I brought him home it was me that sat beside him in the car and kept cleaning him up from his car sickness.  I miss his morning greetings … he used to place his front paws on my shoulders and give me an air kiss with his wet beard … he never did this with anyone else and never at any other time of day.

GWP

Most of today has been taken up with preparing to go bring Pup home on Thursday … he had his first shot today and his microchip.  I could have done with popping out to buy the butter I forgot on Saturday but I can manage a couple of breakfasts without until I go sign on on Wednesday.  We currently have a diversion on our buses so instead of leaving at 14:45 I will have top leave at 13:20 so I might as well make the bus ticket value for money and do a few messages while I am in Forfar.

I did check all the jobs advertised today – it has been really slow the past few days but I am not surprised because companies will start easing off recruiting until after Christmas.  I got an update e-mail from the Job Centre Plus job search site and was rather taken aback to find they recommend I apply for a role of “Principal Anatomist” … how did they think that is suitable when I gave up Biology class before O-Level – I was ill at the thought of dissecting a bull’s eye so there was no way I was continuing that class and cutting up other things!  Oh and I got my award letter confirming eligibility.

I thought it might be interesting to capture the forecast for the rest of this week and see if this is what we get!  Where you can see the mauve temperatures – that is bitterly cold! So when I go sign on it it likely to be icy and cold – and I will have nowhere warm to hang around so I had better walk!  Although we have  a couple more snow d=falls predicted they are short duration so probably much like today.  The good news is by Saturday lunchtime it will be much milder – even though not quite balmy!

weather

I don’t feed wild birds – partly because several other gardens do and I tend to leave seed heads and berries on plants for them to forage from but also I don’t think it right to encourage them within range of dogs.  Having said that we have a tame blackbird that Dog ignores while it hops round his feet and a healthy population of garden birds which he enjoys watching and who don’t seem bothered by him.  That is likely to get disrupted with Pup’s arrival since I will be having to go stand out with him while he learns to be house trained … why wasn’t he born in the summer?

Anyhow I thought you might like this last picture …

Thrush

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

4 responses to “It Snew … or should that be Snowed? (too much Winnie the Pooh me thinks)”

  1. windhound says :

    Snowlight does great things with colour. Great photos.

    • nonehpets says :

      Thank you – I have been trying to find something I wrote a few years ago about the colours in snow but cannot quite remember which creative site I was on at the time! I created a 5 colour palette called “Colours of Snow” which was blues and mauves – I think that is the watercolourist in me!

  2. elleturner4 says :

    Great photos. I love “It snew” and I think I will now use the expression myself!! Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

