Challenges = Opportunities

So what has challenged you today and what did you do about it?

Before I get to my challenge (which involved the camera) I made some discoveries today.

I found some new potatoes when I thought the bag was empty … I can see your brow wrinkling because they are not low refined carbs.  I know and ordinarily I wouldn’t be eating them but I am not in a position to waste food so I baked the new potatoes … and actually there wasn’t much refined carbs in the end because two of them blew up in the oven – tomorrow’s challenge I suppose (oven cleaning)!

But my other discovery was even better – when I was taking pictures the other week there was an issue with the camera SD card and I ended up taking some pictures on the camera’s internal memory which I had forgotten to transfer at the time to the PC.  THese are the best images I have so far of what I think are Bar Tailed Godwits (in which case there is a flock of around 20 or so in the Firth of Tay) and Sanderlings on the foreshore.

WadersWadersWadersWaders

Then I found out through a short discussion that despite me contacting the bus company about the bus route being closed for a short time on Saturday while we switch our Christmas lights on … the drivers do not know!  well they didn’t but they will now!!

But this was my real challenge and it was self imposed.  I have tried at various times to get good moon pictures with not much success.  My bridge DSLR is not really up to the job but it is supposed to be possible even so.  When I let Dog out after his tea there was a beautiful moon illuminating the clouds which had just passed across it.

First of all I tried instinct to set the camera in manual mode; disappointment.  Next I popped back to the computer and Googled advice; even more disappointed following that.  So then I went back and fiddled with different options on the camera – selected shutter priority eventually; reasonably content with that.  So here is a summary of the sequence:

MoonMoonMoon

Far from perfect – but at least now I have a technique I can work on perfection over the coming months; the challenge is now an opportunity and I will be able to measure progress.

Moon

Don’t forget to leave a comment to share your challenges and whether they presented opportunities – I would love to hear about them.

Tags: , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

