A Flying Kiss From a Labrador

I am one of those annoying eternal optimist sort of people … I can see a good side to virtually every situation.

Toxic (having been silent for 48 hours unexpectedly) whined yesterday about some changes happening soon – the changes were BAD, no I mean really terribly bad.  Today he sent me some information and my response? “There are almost no changes!” and that is not being optimistic it is being realistic.  There is only one real change and I agree it is a negative one – mainly for the reason it is happening and the manipulation that has clearly gone into creating that change.  There is however a major positive change – which requires Toxic & Co to do nothing different; they are being given information about a particular aspect that will empower them to deliver better customer service.  They are getting information that they didn’t have before so they won’t have to guess.

I haven’t had a response yet to telling Toxic that there were no significant changes …

As another example of optimism; I did not hear any gunshots from the ranges yesterday so I repeated last Sunday’s journey to Monifieth in the hope that the red flags at Buddon Ness would not be flying – I was disappointed and my optimism was proved wrong.  Still I enjoyed a lovely walk along the beach back to Barn Hill so it was not all bad at all.

There was a cutting wind coming down the Firth but once I started walking it was not too bad.  It was just after low tide so there was plenty of sand to walk on and all the oozy slippy rocks and mud were exposed.  I got my feet a wee bit damp crossing the burn at Monifieth –  but I am a tough cookie and I carry spare socks now so I was not bothered at all.

I encountered several pooches as I walked – many coming to show me their prized ball or just to wag a cheery hello but as I approached the big burn where I need to go off the beach and use the footbridge a black Labrador suddenly came pounding up the beach to me and as I bent down to say hello she took off and planted a doggy kiss on my cheek.  Her person was mortified until he realised I was laughing about the whole thing.  Actually it is just the sort of thing that Pup’s Mum and Grandfather would do!

Another example of my optimism … dogs like me and they will not attack – it takes a lot of dog owners unaware since I will happily approach and talk with any dog even those breeds that most members of the public are scared of because of what they read in the paper about dog attacks.

I eventually found my art from yesterday – I am sure the whole thing had moved along the beach a little but that must be my imagination – the large quartz could not have moved at all.  Here is the sea’s interpretation of my masterpiece.  The small pebbles, shells and sea glass all gone – but virtually all the sizeable stones have been moved a short distance only and the quartz has been partially buried in shingle.

Here are some of the other things I saw today on the beach that pleased my eye:  A breakwater eroded by the tide; a beautiful stone full of glitteryness; a small artistic piece of dry stane dyking; that poppy seed head; a kite surfer back at Monfieth.

I finished up my time on the beach having my picnic, watching the ship photographed at the top being met by the Pilot and coming into the Tay and watching the waders as the tide rose.

The waders have set me a bit of a challenge; I can clearly identify the curlew(s) from the curved beak and their habit of generally not getting their feet in the waves but staying just on the land side of the tide.  There have been other waders a similar size to the curlew that I have been trying to identify and after today I am sure they are Godwits and probably Bar Tailed Godwits – but I am not completely certain.  The colouration still has me flummoxed – inn the pictures they seem to have a greyish head and a chestnut breast but with this extreme of digital zoom it is impossible to be sure.

Why do I think this? they have straight beaks but they are long (so they are not whimbrel and not a sandpiper); they are different colours to the curlew – less pale on their belly and they have a different body shape to the curlew.  From pictures today I am sure that their beak is part orange (nearest the face) and part black (the tip).  The frustration is I just cannot get better photographs with the bridge camera unless I can get closer – and the only way I might do that is to sit myself down on the flat sands before they move up the Firth in the hope they don’t object to me and I can sneak a better snap.

Curlew – left foreground & ? Godwit – centre

Curlew (centre and behind) and ? Godwits (front)

?Godwits – see the two colour straight beak on the one to the right

I finished up my travels with a happy Bingo Buddy having just had TWO wins at bingo today – another £90 in the Lucky Pebble’s favour!  Now even optimism doesn’t explain that away.

I finished my day having a conversation about whether the donkey (actually it is a pony) is coming to the Christmas Lights Switch on Event and hearing that Santa’s suit has been recovered from one of the Community Councillor’s cellars … hmmm I think he might have fun explaining his way out of that one don’t you?

I have had a gentle week this week – much less walking and some later starts and earlier finishes.  There is a nasty bug going round and it is hitting some folk hard.  My sniffles are less sniffly and I don’t feel as lacking in energy so hopefully being out in the fresh air and easing back to rest physically has been enough to keep the cold at bay?  Tomorrow I have to do some stuff I have been putting off (I know I shouldn’t do that but it was the optimist in me saying if I waited I might not need to do it because something might change the circumstances – it hasn’t.  It is a definite example of my serenity prayer – knowing what I cannot change and having the serenity to deal with it.  Just need to put it out of my mind for tonight, get a good sleep and then get up refreshed an in the right frame of mind tomorrow.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

