The Rush of 100 Wings

Every day during my trip I am looking for inspiration for the titles of my blog post – after all if I want to encourage you to keep reading the title is the first thing that leads you in.  SO I often aim for amusing, ambiguous or even plain daft!  I did not have to wait long today for inspiration … as I waited at the bus stop a large flock of corbidae flew overhead quite low.  I reckon there were around 50 of them and the noise their wings made was incredible.  Incredibly loud and yet very soothing at the same time.

Other contenders for the title today included “Sheep Look Like Mobile Rocks”, “Oh Deer Three Little Behinds”, or even “What Vile Tea!” … I will come to each of those in a wee while.

My Day started late – I even toyed with having a duvet day … but that was the whole point of this exercise to maintain routine so I dragged myself out form my duvet cocoon.  I not only skipped breakfast but did not have time for a large latte either! (please note I do not recommend this approach to life)  So when the Rush of Wings surrounded me at the Bus Stop it was a very welcome wake up call.

The first driver I met on the wee bus is the one I encouraged to use my name instead of “dear” … it is nice to buy one’s weekly ticket from a driver who greets you by name … very nice indeed.  And even nicer that his wee bus reached the High Street with the 22 still sitting there; as soon as I boarded he was off (on the early aside of sharp again which would account for his low passenger count again).  He tried to be witty and I didn’t play.  The highlight of the first part of the journey was a spectacular sunrise sky silhouetting Bummie to our left.

I amused myself noticing the changes in the countryside – a field now ploughed but with an island of trees down the middle; a stubble field that had sheep last week is now vacated and in the process of being ploughed; a huge cock pheasant standing proud in his territory and a wiry none silhouetted running up the edge of the field.  Suddenly we slowed hard … I caught a glimpse of a deer over the wall and as we eased alongside they turned and ran away – two Roe Does and a Buck I think (hence the “Oh Deer Three Little Behinds” possibility).

As we turned the next bend alongside the beast field where the fold of Highland Cattle live my eye was caught, as most mornings by the hillside opposite.  It is a dark rusty red colour at this time of year and every morning the ‘rocks’ appear to have moved until I remember there are no visible rocks it is the sheep! (hence the “Sheep Look Like Mobile Rocks” possible option) … did I already say I have a vivid imagination?

When we arrived in Dundee I made an almost fatal mistake … with 20 minutes before the 57 left I decided to brave the bus station cafe for a hot drink … there is a reason their hot drinks are cheapish … I could see the catering size tin of a very well know brand of instant coffee so I opted for tea.  It was half the price I pay for tea in a posh coffee house but oh my goodness it was vile!  Never again …. never!

So where did I travel to today? well I caught the 57 for the scenic route to Perth and at the bus station picked up timetables for the four services that I can use to go into Fife or Stirling using my standard Megarider ticket.  By this time the rain had come on and I wanted a no walking day so riding the bus to scope out future walks was ideal.  I opted for the number 36 and headed to Newburgh.  When I stayed in Wormit I recall the news items about the community orchards in Newburgh and have just looked for an update which you can read here if interested.  Fife has a thriving local foods approach and is also celebrating 5 years of the Fife Diet this autumn.

Newburgh is essentially one long street; the houses are all different and yet they sit so beautifully alongside each other … here are a few views:

I was lead down this road by the top of a double decker Stagecoach bus (hard for you to see in the picture); my reading has informed me that this used to be a Stagecoach Depot and now three deckers are parked there overnight.

Sadly by the time I got to the riverside the weather was worsening and as you can see there was not much to see!  I could just make out Dundee in the distant fog and the reed beds at the other side of the river.

 

I walked a wee way along the quay and did find the waterfront park and picnic area with the Fife Coastal Path waymarkers too.  I will have to return in better weather and explore further.  For today I called it quits and headed back for the next bus back to Perth and a 16X to Dundee.  I couldn’t stop eating today – and most of it wasn’t healthy; I think this is linked with the lethargy this morning.  Since I wanted a non walking day I went to a coffee shop for a coffee and an early sandwich tea and slouched on the leather sofa to read.

At the back of my mind all afternoon has been one of the drivers who had a final goodbye to say; he had told me it hadn’t really sunk in and he thought the funeral would be when it hit him hard … I have been “wishing him enough” to get through today so he can let his grief take it’s course.  It is hard to see people go through this but it affects all of us at some time or another.

There were lots of traffic hold ups on the way home but I had an excellent team of two drivers and two reliable buses; so I was smiling when I got here.

In other news Pup is excelling at climbing things … he has scaled a 20″ vertical board today to try and escape. Me thinks Dog, Pup and I are going to have a fantastic couple of summers of hill walking ahead of us; next year it will be late summer before Pup is ready for longer walks, the following year he should be coping with decent hill walks and Dog will still be fit enough too.  Pup will come into his own in three summers time when Dog might choose to opt out of some, although if he takes after his granny I doubt it – he will be running until he drops.  So I need to keep improving my fitness if I am not to let them down.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

