Shrunk in the Wash?

It is Friday and I am so appreciative that I currently do not have that “thank goodness it is Friday” mindset  – weekends and weekdays continue to be equal.  It turned out to be an emotional day and a damp one!

So everything was going really well until I dragged myself out of bed! That is an exaggeration, Dog’s constitutional was fine and so was breakfast.  Then I got distracted and had to rush at the last minute again.  It was dreich – the only way I can describe it … on the bus Weather Guru wanted to know where I went yesterday and I explained that I went to the only place on the planet that had freezing fog all day … made him laugh at least.  I said I was thinking about heading to Auchmithie today since I didn’t get on the beach last time and although it wouldn’t be a falling tide it would be okay.  I did mention that I hoped the kite might get out too.

Then the first bit of emotion – I was given a card saying “thank you and good luck”; it was unexpected, it was a lovely thought … it made me cry!  This is a flaw in me – a friend (and until recently colleague) used to give me little cards or notes when things were not going well to lift my spirits; she learned to make sure I had seen her put the card on my desk so I wouldn’t open it immediately and burst into tears.  It is not hast I don’t like the cards it is that the thoughtfulness and kindness overwhelms me … and I am really not the hardfaced bitch a few would have you believe – I am a soppy moo!

I kept having a little blub on the X7 and even as I wandered around Arbroath; I would think it was under control and it would escape again.  I went along to see the Abbey, I hadn’t time to go in and at £5.50 that will be a piece of heritage that has to wait for me to visit properly, but I did take some pictures before I popped up to Victoria park (the start of the cliff path) and I could have flown the kite but (a) that would have made me 2 hours later getting to Auchmithie and (b) whilst the kite would fly how controllable it would be in the wind was very questionable.

Looking at the Cliff Path from the top of Vicky Park

I wandered down to a bus stop to await the 140.  I saw one of our local drivers passing and we waved and then the Fire Station door opened and the Fieries were on their way to a shout with blue lights and sirens.  Shortly afterwards a man arrived on a bicycle and several more in cars – the reserve fieries were needed too.  Gentleman you were very professional and thank you for all the work you do to keep us safe.

I arrived at Auchmithie and had around 2 hours 30 minutes before the return bus.  I read the information sign in the car park (very nice presentation) and popped along to the loos – Auchmithie you should be so proud of your public conveniences – pristine, stainless steel and no sanitary bins and loo paper dispensers cramping one’s style.  I really liked the ventilation from the slightly opened windows and the natural light that also provided.  How I missed these last visit I do not know!  Then onwards down the steps and the road to the beach.

Fishing from the end of the Harbour wall

An Empty Harbour

A stack and an arch created by the waves

This beach is very different to the others I have visited recently – it is reminiscent of the beaches of my pre-teen years on the south coast of East Sussex and the beaches of the North Kent Coast – pebbles and shingle with steep slopes and platforms shaped by the waves.  The fishing boats here were originally launched from the beach and hauled up out of reach of the waves when not in use.  There are no boats here now but I recall being on pebble beaches with fishing boats hauled up above the tide line as a child.

It had started to rain and the pebbles were all so beautiful with their sheeny wet coating.  So many smooth rounded stones of so many colours and hues.  Just beautiful.  I fund it really hard going walking on the stones – they roll so readily and on a slope it is like being in a mini avalanche if one is not careful.  I collected some pebbles and quickly found a problem.  The jeans I bought the Monday I was in the mire (so less than two weeks ago) started to slide down as soon as there were a few pebbles in a pocket.  I have also noticed my bracelets are looser – I am losing weight!  I am not complaining and since I never weigh myself these changes in shape are my measurement.  It was another rainy day so it feels like having got wet twice this week I am shrinking in the wash!!!

What did disappoint me at Auchmithie beach was the litter left around – yards of tangled fishing lines littered the beach and in the car park obviously the local youths meet in the evenings and leave their condoms strewn around the ground.  It is good that their health is being safeguarded but please just take the rubbish home or if you cannot do that find a bin enroute!

I climbed the steps to get half way up form the beach – 65 of therm and I alternated legs so I pushed off from right and left equally.  I didn’t get out of breath and I was able to pause to take pictures of the harbour below without worrying.  In this one I had been stood about 2 metres below the top of the wave line around 30 minutes earlier (when it was dry land)

I got back to the bus stop and in the shelter I stowed the stones in my pack and ate my nutty grains and vegetables salad for my lunch.  Today the fruit was well behaved and I had no escapee apples!  From Arbroath I decided to X7 to Montrose … I have missed seeing the big boats in the harbour.  There were several old friends like Ocean Seeker still there and some newcomers too.  I had a coffee and caught the X7 back to Dundee just in time to see one of the boats being led from it’s berth by the Pilot.

While I awaited the returning bus I overheard a conversation about Scotland being for the Scots and nae the sassenachs who steal the Scot’t jobs – I was on the point of turning round and asking if it would be okay then for me to not pay taxes to the Scottish Government to fund the speakers Bus Concession Card … really get your thinking hats on folks – is I earn money in Scotland where do I spend it? whose communities do I support and contribute to? oh and as for your other comment I very much doubt you had the skills to be applying for the same jobs as me so I do not think I am stealing the bread from your bairns’ mouths am I?

While at Montrose I read an e-mail from a friend offering an inspirational quote and kind words and the tears started again!  In the 12 weeks since I knew my job would end and I wanted to make a big change in my life I have only cried once before today – I am sure you will remember that I made myself cry when I coached myself up that cliff path at Earlsferry.  Today two friends, independently, gave me cause to cry … not tears of distress or sadness; just soppy tears.

When I got off the bus in Dundee I was greeted by the young man who had asked me about my muddy feet last week “hello are you going home now?” – he was waiting to get on the X7 to make his way home.

I broke the journey back from Dundee in Forfar to go to the supermarket and then after a catch up with Weather Guru (I admitted I had got the worst of the weather again and the kite hadn’t been out of it’s bag) I got the 20 to come home; although we were delayed waiting for the connecting bus from Dundee, but never mind I got here safely.

So I am losing weight; I have had an emotional day; and tomorrow the weather is forecast to be chilly for the next couple of days … so I need to get my rest and toughen up again before tomorrow’s adventure!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

