Away With the Faeries?

… erm … no not me!  We spotted this ‘Facebook Status’ sort of comment on the back of a rather sleek sporty coupé this morning … it was all written in frilly writing with little silver images of faeries and butterflies.  WHY?

Does one really want to give other road users the impression that whilst one is driving one is ditzy, absent, away with the faeries?   It just has to be one of the most bizarre things I have ever seen!  We had a little fun trying to work out what the bus drivers would like stencilled on the back of the buses … I think the best (and certainly most printable) was “… because (Boss’s name) said so”.  Anyway it isn’t happening – the ‘girls’ find life challenging enough just staying well without being stencilled all over!

The next wee drama was a cyclist who did his best to get squished between our bus and the one in front – but at least he didn’ t hop onto the pavement to continue his journey.

I was undecided on my destination today … I swithered and swithered some more and had all but decided to go to Easthaven and walk to Arbroath (the advantage of going that way being (1) there would be toilets at the destination and (2) I would get the benefit of lowish tides for most of the walk but have approaching high tide by the time I reached the harbour at Arbroath – so better photographs.  But then a 78C appeared on the timing board so I went to Monikie instead; specifically to Monikie Country Park.  I thought I had been here before but it must have been neighbouring Crombie Park where I had visited previously.

As I arrived I was met by a wee red squirrel – but unfortunately did not have my camera out or I am sure it would have been a good picture!  I walked round the larger of the two reservoirs, dawdled into one of the hides but there were not really any birds to see and sat for a while working up a little watercolour pencil sketch which I will use, along with photos to create an online painting soon.

There is plenty to do at Monikie in the height of the season but today it was lovely and peaceful … apart from the toilets that is.  They were spotlessly clean and well provisioned but … I am sorry I know this is too much information but you really do need to appreciate my dilemma … they were tiny cubicles!  I won’t leave my backpack outside the cubicle – it contains my wallet and camera gear … but I couldn’t get in with the backpack on.  I reached around and hung my camera on the back of the door, shrugged off the backpack, squeezed it round in front of me and it and I leaned as far over the cistern as we could.  This just allowed me to scrape the door past the back of my knees and closed.

Next I and the backpack have to turn round NB the toilet has neither seat nor lid (modern stainless steel all in one vandal proof) so one has to avid dropping the back pack!  Eventually having swapped location with the backpack and I am facing the right way I can put the bag down and remove sufficient clothing.

Now I know my bum is bigger than it should be and I am overweight but I am by no means as big as some of the women I see every day.  To sit down … hmmm … the toilet is narrow, cold stainless steel; perhaps the hover would be better.  Cannot hover because the toilet paper dispenser sticks out so far it is digging into my left side and the sanitary bin is on the other side of the toilet so close that I am sitting on it.  That stainless steel was cold I tell you – and for a moment I thought I was stuck there.

I managed eventually to extricate myself, appropriately dressed and with camera and backpack – would it really have been so terrible to just have 3 cubicles in the same space and give folk a little bit of breathing  room?  and perhaps self warming stainless steel could be an option?

It was an overcast day but there was plenty of autumn colour to capture.  There were a few dogs who did the usual thing of coming to me even as they were being told to leave me alone!

This drake was very determined in his headstands just beyond the bullrushes … hope he was finding something tasty in that chilly water!

This is the view looking across Monifieth bay to Tentsmuir Forest and Fife in the far distance.

Pirate ship ahoy? no three comical cormorants!

I thought these soft grey fungi were rather delicate against the leaf litter

With 90 minutes before the bus back I decided to set off walking and if I felt comfy to walk down to the A92 and catch a bus there.  I walked 1.5 miles to Newbigging Toll … some folk should not be allowed a driving licence there are some maniacs on our country lanes and it isn’t the commercial drivers – it is people driving zippy little cars … you know the sort of driver who is “away with the faeries”!

Drivers notwithstanding my feet started to get sore so I stopped and waited for the bus which tool a long looping route back into Dundee.  Even though I had had a banana I was ravenous so I had to go get a sandwich and a hot drink.  So my plans for today originally involved the kite – it stayed home because of the changing forecast … perhaps I will try again tomorrow?  Come back and check it out!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

