Luck be a Lady … With a Pebble

Sanderling Can Can

I couldn’t resist starting with these energetic little birds – all they need is the music and they could be dancing the can can!  I certainly feel lucky to have been able to watch them and capture them on film.

I took advantage of the clocks going back and had a good long sleep – Dog was a little confused when I popped to the loo at 04:25; he quite reasonably thought that at 05:25 I might be getting up!  He got tucked back into bed and I snuggled back under the duvet to sleep some more.

Do you remember last Sunday’s post here, where it turned out that my good luck pebble had almost accidentally killed the recipient?  Well this morning as the Bingo Buddies climbed aboard we all laughed again at the misunderstanding and he confirmed he had the pebble with him.  We went our separate ways in Dundee and we can catch up with their day later in the post.

Do you also remember that last week I was stood out on the mud flats at low tide to take pictures?  today I was expecting the tide to be about half way in when I arrived – but it was already well up the beach so I decided to beachcomb first and maybe fly the kite afterwards.  As well as sea glass I found several pebbles that are clearly from Scurdie Ness – that felt quite weird knowing where they had migrated from.  There were loads of broken spiral shells, as well as mussels and little winkles – obviously another seabird fine dining location.

But the highlight of my day was watching the little flock of waders.  The Turnstones I recognised easily – and I had to look up the little pale grey birds (the Sanderlings) – it wasn’t until I got home and looked on the screen that I realised there is a third species in the flock – which I think are Dunlin.  The Sanderlings dash around and the others are more calm – some of them even having heads under wings for a nap.  They would let me get to within about 5 metres and then would take flight and go two breakwaters along the beach to resettle.

Can you tell the birds from the stones?

The pale ones are Sanderlings, the ones with black on their heads are Turnstones and I think the sleepy brown birds with pale bellies are Dunlin

Even when you know they are there it can be hard to see them?

Not a great quality picture but they exhibit these typical low flights over the waves to the next bit of beach – looking a bit like large swallows

… and what of the Bingo Buddy with the lucky pebble?  They were later getting to the bus station this afternoon and when he arrived he made a stern face and then rushed to hug me.  He had had a win!

Tomorrow he is moving house and needs an under counter freezer to go with the fridge – the winnings were £200 so he can buy his freezer now.  I know many people will say it is just chance or fate; I tend to think we make our own luck in life (he did after all ask me to wish him luck and so my gift fulfilled that request).  Regardless of whether the pebble played any part in his winning enough for the freezer it has been a lucky pebble because it has made us all laugh all week at the misunderstanding of him thinking it was a sweetie.

I am really delighted for him and it made me think of one of my early posts about “… wishing you enough …” because fate decreed that he won enough for what he needs right now.

And how lucky is this – here are six gulls who have enough too – a post each …

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

