Walk with me …

Not a very exciting day today but a few enjoyable moments and another sort of coming to the same place from a different direction experience.

I showed Weather Guru some of the sea glass and a pretty stone this morning; Weather Guru wondered if I could get him enough of the pretty stone to do his garden instead of the boring chippings he could get at the garden centre … he thinks it would be better if I did it since I know exactly where the source is and it wouldn’t be too bad one knapsack full at a time … hmmmm

Something a little radical happened on the bus – well not on the bus exactly – normally every set of traffic lights are at red; this morning not one set of lights was red so the bus arrived unusually early.  This was nice and gave me time for a visit to the ladies – and as it turned out since the X7 was 10 minutes late I could have visited the Ladies several times over!  We did not make up any time on the X7 but we did use the new road they have been building – how exciting (and even more exciting they have added new bus stops by the road that is the shortest route to Lunan Bay!).

The ride on the 47 to Ferryden is just a routine trip now – quick check in the harbour to see who has gone, who has moved and who has arrived.  Ocean Seeker was still there, Bigorange had moved to the opposite side (and later when I returned was gone) and a new boat had arrived – I saw it approach and had hoped to get photographs of the Pilot Boat meet and greet but missed that while I was on a beach.

So today I was aiming for Fishtown of Usan which is around the headland from where I fell in the mire earlier in the week, but I planned to follow the road and not go anywhere muddy!

Old weather vane

I set off up the wee brae at a good rate, pausing for a chat with the two Beltex Rams who managed not to laugh at my muddy knees the other day – what sweet boys they are!  A short while later as I passed a small copse a chap was taking  a breather and a swig or two of water.  I wished him good morning and he asked where I was off to marching along the road.  I explained I was just out continuing my explorations and taking photographs of anything that interested me.  He told me about the place I was heading for, who I might meet and the dog who would be wanting me to throw sticks for it.

He also shared some local information – the ruins I was photographing on Monday were a Mill (makes sense since there was a small exit for a water course.  Nearby there is a blowhole in the rocks which is spectacular when the sea is a bit high and there is a swell.  He was clearing lumber off the land owned by the farmer who’s cattle I entertained on Monday – D gets the firewood and the farmer doesn’t have trees damaging his power/phone lines in the storms.

Some local ‘yummy mummies’ passed in their designer trainers and designer clothes.  D made a disparaging remark as they disappeared from sight, which I cannot repeat here but it did make me curious that he would stop me for a chat and dismiss others so readily.  Anyway I left him cutting wood with him telling me to ask at the fishery for some smoked salmon to be charged to him – what a kind and generous thought.

Buzzard

I continued along, stopping briefly to watch and photograph two buzzards – possibly adult and this years grown up chick?  Then turned and headed for the village.  The road winds through a farm yard (but offers the luxury of a pavement at this part) and then down to the ruined village where the fishery is based and the public right of way path to the beach.  As advised I was greeted by a collie and two small Labs with a bit of woofing and lots of wagging and sniffing.  Having been given permission to continue to the beach one of the Labs took the lead and showed me where to go – it was quite bizarre having someone elses dog invite itself along n my walk!

The mire is over there

A view of the ruins and farm I visited on Monday

Ruined village

The ruins of Fishtown of Usan

Drying the nets

Drying the nets above the beach

Usan Natural Harbour

A beautiful natural harbour offering good shelter

Fishing Equipment

Lovely crystals captured in the local stone

Once I slithered down the path to the beach my friend did indeed expect stick throwing; it was tricky because there were not many sticks around and the first couple were rejected – but then I found a small section of a thin log and that appeared satisfactory.  Although she would retrieve it she wouldn’t bring it right back to me but would drop it a few feet in front of her and step back to politely await my next throw.  This game continued halfway back up the path until she missed where the throw had landed and pestered for  a new stick.

… and this picture is my new friend having to be sent home because she tried to come away with me.  Obviously used to having free run because she knew exactly how to avoid the tractor with its bogie and the Manitou behind it.  They were bringing in the straw bales to the barn.

I set off back towards Ferryden and was really pleased to see these five Roe Deer across a field.  Interestingly a person was walking up the far side of the field and so they were oblivious to me.

I headed down a  different route back in to Ferryden and took a series of photographs of the Basin and the Town with Bay that I will create a panorama from – I will add the link to that later when it is done.

Did I manage to collect stones for Weather Guru? well yes – but at this rate it is going to be a while before he rakes put his new chipped garden … I found two pebbles for him.  Oh and I didn’t bring any salmon home simply because I didn’t see any people around the fishery – only my friend the stick retriever!

We have not yet had the blast of cold air we were promised this week but there was certainly a fresh stiff breeze came up this afternoon and it was blowing the beech leaves of hedges like confetti; I also caught a brief glimpse of a rather lovely rainbow.  Although tomorrow is forecast colder, it is showing a god wind and sunshine so just maybe the kite will get to soar tomorrow …

Today I:

  • learned more about greyhounds than I ever expected to (I was talking shite apparently when I said they liked to eat rabbit);
  • Was offered fresh tatties (still in the field) and locally caught/smoked salmon – a generous thought;
  • Was advised that at 48 years old I haven’t got long left … this was not offensive and I am a realist so it is in part true
  • Saw buzzards and deer and a raptor over the harbour (photograph didn’t come out) which I think was most likely a peregrine although the territory is not quite right since it was bigger than a kestrel but it was exciting to watch it fly (it did a little circuit just for me) and such a shame I couldn’t get the picture
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

